# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on State Affairs**

#### **Assembly Bill 120**

Relating to: the design of health care coverage plans for public safety employees. By Representatives Donovan, McGuire, C. Anderson, J. Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Brandtjen, Callahan, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Goeben, Gundrum, Joers, Kurtz, Nedweski, Novak, Ohnstad, Palmeri, Rettinger, Rodriguez, Rozar, Schmidt, Schutt, Shankland, Sinicki, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Subeck, Tusler, Wichgers, Wittke, Mursau and Haywood; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Wirch, Bradley, Carpenter, Cowles, Felzkowski, Hutton, Jacque, James, Pfaff, Smith, Spreitzer and Testin.

March 24, 2023 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

#### April 11, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(12)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Green, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses,
		Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Cabrera, Baldeh
		and Hong.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Summerfield and Ohnstad.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Bob Donovan 84th Assembly District
- Sen. Van Wanggaard 21th Senate District
- John Milotzky FOP / WPOA
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Firefighters of WI
- Eric Daun MKE Professional Firefighters Assn.
- Alex Ayala MKE Police Assn.
- Jim Palmer WI Professional Police Assn.

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Sen. Bob Wirch 22nd Senate District
- Catherine McDermott WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Assn.
- Catherine McDermott Badger State Sheriffs Assn.
- Alice O'Connor WPPA

• Joe Garza - New Berlin School District

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

# Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### September 20, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros,
		Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad,
		Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 120** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk