Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 142

Relating to: restrictions on use or sale of motor vehicles based on power source. By Representatives Schutt, Green, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Gustafson, Maxey, Michalski, Murphy, O'Connor, Rozar, Sapik, Schmidt, Sortwell, Spiros, Tranel, VanderMeer, Plumer, Rettinger and S. Johnson; cosponsored by Senators Tomczyk, Bradley, Cabral-Guevara, Feyen, Marklein, Quinn, Testin and Wanggaard.

April 04, 2023	Referred t	Referred to Committee on State Affairs				
April 11, 2023	Public Hearing Held					
	Present:	(12)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.			
	Absent:	(0)	None.			
	Excused:	(2)	Representatives Summerfield and Ohnstad.			
	Appearances For					
	• I	• Rep. Ellen Schutt - 31st Assembly District				
	• \$	• Sen. Cory Tomczyk - 29th Senate District				
	• I	• Rep. Chanz Green - 74th Assembly District				
	• (Craig Summerfield - WMC				
	• I	• Ed Cassel - MKE Model T Club				
		Greg Ro Enthusia	scizewski - Snowmobilers & Motorsport asts			
	• I	David D	wyer - Motorcycle Riders Foundation			
	• I	Brian Da	ake - WIB			
	• \	Wayne I	Ball			
	• 5	• Sreve Panten - ABATE WI				
	• 1	Mike Ha	lvorson - Twin Lakes Country Club			
		lames L Clubs	one - Racine County Alliance of Snowmobile			
	• [Гот Zir	nbrick - Auto Dealers			
	• 1	Dan Joh	nson - WI Motor Carriers Assn.			

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Robin Vos
- Rebecca Zarling Green Bay Yacht Club
- Rebecca Zarling Oconto Area ATV Club
- Matt Hauser WPMCA
- Brian Casey US Venture
- Steve Loehr Kwik Trip
- Andy Engel Alliance for Automotive Innovation
- Megan Novak AFP
- Bob Welch WI Biofuels Assn.
- Catherine McDermott American Petroleum Institute
- Michelle Kussow WI Propane Gas Assn.

Registrations Against

• Peter Burress - WI Conservation Voters

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

April 13, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros,
		Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Baldeh
		and Hong.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Cabrera.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Ohnstad.

Moved by Representative Moses, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Bill 142** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan and Gustafson.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Baldeh and Hong.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk