Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 28

Relating to: classifying county jailers as protective occupation participants under the Wisconsin Retirement System and the treatment of county jailers under the Municipal Employment Relations Act.

By Representatives Born, Allen, C. Anderson, Armstrong, Behnke, Brooks, Callahan, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Emerson, Green, Gustafson, Joers, Kitchens, Krug, Macco, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Ratcliff, Rodriguez, Rozar, Schraa, Shankland, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Subeck, Summerfield, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Wittke, Zimmerman and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Feyen, Jacque, Jagler, James, L. Johnson, Smith and Spreitzer.

February 10, 2023 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

March 01, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Swearingen; Representatives

Green, Summerfield, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad,

Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Mark Born 39th Assembly District
- Sheriff Dale Schmidt Badger State Sheriff's Assn.
- Undersheriff Marshall Herman Badger State Sheriff's Assn.
- Brandon Reel WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Assn.
- Kevin Schultz Dodge County Sheriff's Office
- Scott Buckner Dodge County Sheriff's Office
- Marcie Rainbolt WI Counties Assn.
- Andy Phillips WI Counties Assn.

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- Andrew Jones

Registrations Against

- Alice O'Connor WPPA
- Jim Palmer WPPA

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 08, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives
Green, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses,
Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera,
Baldeh and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Summerfield.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 28** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Green, Schraa, Brooks, Spiros, Moses, Callahan, Gustafson, Sinicki, Ohnstad, Cabrera, Baldeh and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk