Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Regulatory Licensing Reform

Assembly Bill 822

Relating to: eligibility to receive occupational credentials for recipients of deferred action under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program.

By Representatives Macco, Ortiz-Velez, Kitchens, Conley, Goyke, McGuire, O'Connor, Allen, C. Anderson, J. Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Bare, Considine, Emerson, Hong, Joers, Madison, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad and Snyder; cosponsored by Senators Taylor, James, Hesselbein, Tomczyk, Agard, Carpenter, Larson, Roys and Spreitzer.

December 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Regulatory Licensing Reform

December 13, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Sortwell; Representatives
Gustafson, Allen, Goeben, Macco, Melotik,
Moore Omokunde, Sinicki and Palmeri.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. John Macco 88th Assembly District
- Rep. Sylvia Ortiz-Velez
- Shiva Bidar-Sielaff UW Health and UW School of Medicine and Public Health
- Gina Dennik-Champion WI Nurses Association
- Marco Lopez Rep. Kitchen's Office and Self
- Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI (ELCA)
- Alondra QR self
- Pamela Rubalcava self
- Karen Coler self
- Zach Brandon Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
- John Jacobs IBEW State Conference
- Tony Gonzalez American Hispanic Association
- Tia Izzia WI Catholic Conference

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Karen Perez-Wilson Centro Hispano
- Mike Tierney DSPS Legislative Liaison
- Layla Merrifield WI Tech College District Boards
- Fabiola Hamdan Latino Childen and Families Council
- Elizabeth Garcia Hall Centro Hispano
- Tatiana D Centro Hispano
- Virginia Lopez Centro Hispano
- Rebecca Larson WI Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Association
- Daryana Blanco Centro Hispano
- Cristobal Castro Centro Hispano
- Silvia Martinez Centrol Hispano
- Irma Varela Centro Hispano
- Brenda Martinez Centro Hispano
- Erica Soto self
- Daryl Morin Advanced Wireless WI
- Paul Farrow Waukesha County Exec
- Chris Mambu Rasch Building Advantage
- Charlie Walker Chippewa Economic Development Corp.
- Avi Sturn Milk Source
- Eileen Figuera Forward Latino
- Steve Conway Chiropractic Society WI
- Justin Moralez City of Milwaukee
- Esperonza Gonzalez self
- Connie Shulze UW Health and UW School of Medicine and Public Health
- Shari Campbell La Casa de Esperanza
- Senator Lena Taylor

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Chaudette Miller - Administrators of Nursing Education in WI

January 24, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Sortwell; Representatives
Gustafson, Allen, Goeben, Macco, Melotik,
Moore Omokunde, Sinicki and Palmeri.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Gustafson, seconded by Representative Goeben that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Sortwell; Representatives Gustafson, Allen, Goeben, Macco, Melotik, Moore Omokunde, Sinicki and Palmeri.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gustafson, seconded by Representative Macco that **Assembly Bill 822** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Sortwell; Representatives Gustafson, Allen, Goeben, Macco, Melotik, Moore Omokunde, Sinicki and Palmeri.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Zach Pfaffenbach Committee Clerk