Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Mental Health and Substance Abuse Prevention

Assembly Bill 173

Relating to: grants to prevent suicide by firearm and making an appropriation. By Representatives Sortwell, S. Johnson, Doyle, Andraca, Armstrong, Dittrich, Edming and Shankland; cosponsored by Senators James, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Carpenter, Spreitzer and Taylor.

April 10, 2023 Referred to Committee on Mental Health and Substance Abuse Prevention

May 09, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (10) Representative Tittl; Representatives Dittrich, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Gundrum, Magnafici, Vining, Considine, Moore Omokunde and Palmeri.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Plumer and Behnke.

Appearances For

- Senator Jesse James State Senate 23rd District
- Representative Shae Sortwell Wisconsin State Assembly - 2nd Assembly District
- Janet Hyde Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense America
- Marsha Baldwridge Moms Demand Action
- Julia Stanley UW Health

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Christopher Lee - National Shooting Sports Foundation

Registrations For

- Savannah Sepic Every Town for Gun Safety
- Shannon Elliot-Chalgren Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
- Lauren Cohen Moms Demand Action
- HJ Waukau Dept. of Health Services

 Connie Schulze - UW Health and UW School of Medicine and Public Policy

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 09, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Tittl; Representatives Dittrich, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Gundrum, Plumer,

Magnafici, Behnke, Vining, Considine, Moore

Omokunde and Palmeri.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Tittl that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Tittl; Representatives Dittrich, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Gundrum,

Plumer, Magnafici and Behnke.

Noes: (4) Representatives Vining, Considine, Moore

Omokunde and Palmeri.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Plumer that **Assembly Bill 173** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (11) Representative Tittl; Representatives

Dittrich, VanderMeer, Wichgers, Gundrum,

Plumer, Magnafici, Behnke, Vining,

Considine and Palmeri.

Noes: (1) Representative Moore Omokunde.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Steve Hall Committee Clerk