Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Local Government

Assembly Bill 222

Relating to: a pre-disaster flood resilience grant program.

By Representatives Oldenburg, Novak, Shankland, Spiros, Krug, Green, Mursau, Kurtz, Edming, Kitchens, Andraca, Baldeh, Conley, Behnke, Rettinger, Palmeri, Subeck, Joers and Billings; cosponsored by Senators Quinn, Cowles, Cabral-Guevara, Testin, Jacque, Wimberger, James and Spreitzer.

April 20, 2023 Referred to Committee on Local Government

June 06, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Novak; Representatives

Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Krug, Michalski, Pronschinske, S. Johnson, Baldeh, Conley, C.

Anderson and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Loren Oldenburg Wisconsin State Assembly
- Larry Konopacki Wisconsin Towns Association
- Jennifer Western-Hauser Wisconsin Wetlands Association
- Mike Kuhr Wisconsin Trout Unlimited
- Ben Wojahn Vernon County Land and Water
- Mary Jo Gingras
- Brian Vigue Audobon Great Lakes
- Joseph Pfeiffer
- Gretchen Pfeiffer
- Kayla Wandsnider The Nature Conservancy
- Jared Tessman Monroe County Emergency Management

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

• Senator Romaine Quinn - Wisconsin State Senate

- Representative Katrina Shankland Wisconsin State Assembly
- Dan Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Jordan Lamb Wisconsin Potato and Vegetable Growers Association
- Matt Krueger Wisconsin Land and Water Conservation
- Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Erik Kanter Clean Wisconsin
- Forbes McIntosh Wisconsin EMS Association
- Tom Moore Audobon Great Lakes
- Michelle Ramirez-White Wisconsin Farmers Association
- Pam Dryer
- Mark Dryer

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

Bridget Esser - Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs

June 14, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (11) Representative Novak; Representatives
Donovan, Maxey, Krug, Michalski,
Pronschinske, S. Johnson, Baldeh, Conley, C.
Anderson and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Gundrum.

Moved by Representative Michalski, seconded by Representative Baldeh that **Assembly Bill 222** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representative Novak; Representatives
Donovan, Maxey, Krug, Michalski,
Pronschinske, S. Johnson, Baldeh, Conley,
C. Anderson and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Morgan O'Flahrity
Committee Clerk