# **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Local Government**

#### Assembly Bill 245

Relating to: county and municipal aid; imposing a city sales tax and an additional county sales tax to pay the unfunded actuarial accrued liability of city and county retirement systems; requiring newly hired city and county employees of certain city agencies and counties to be enrolled in the Wisconsin Retirement System; fire and police commissions of first class cities; eliminating the personal property tax; reporting certain crimes and other incidents that occur on school property or school transportation; advisory referenda; local health officers; local public protection services; exceptions to local levy limits; local regulation of certain quarry operations; emergency services; local approval of projects and activities under the Warren Knowles-Gaylord Nelson Stewardship 2000 Program; requiring a referendum; and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Kurtz, Rodriguez, Vos, August, Born, Armstrong, Behnke, Binsfeld, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Donovan, Duchow, Edming, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, Hurd, Katsma, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Magnafici, Maxey, Michalski, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Pronschinske, Rozar, Sapik, Schmidt, Schraa, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tusler, Zimmerman and Wittke; cosponsored by Senators Felzkowski, Cabral-Guevara, James and Quinn.

May 03, 2023 Referred to Committee on Local Government

May 04, 2023

#### **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(12)	Representative Novak; Representatives
		Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Krug, Michalski,
		Pronschinske, S. Johnson, Baldeh, Conley, C.
		Anderson and Ratcliff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Tony Kurtz Wisconsin State Assembly
- Representative Jessie Rodriguez Wisconsin State Assembly
- Senator Mary Felzkowski Wisconsin State Senate
- Michael Stanley Wisconsin State Fire Chiefs Association
- Mike Koles Wisconsin Towns Association
- Chair/President Gerry Derr Town of Bristol/Wisconsin Towns Association
- Kyle Christianson Wisconsin Counties Association

- Dean Smith Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Steven Roux Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Mayor Steve Ponto City of Brookfield
- Mayor Shawn Reilly City of Waukesha
- City Manager Joe Moore City of Fond Du Lac
- County Executive Jonathan Delagrave Racine County Executive
- County Executive Jon Doemel Winnebago County Executive
- County Administrator Todd Romenesko Calumet County Administrator
- Pete Friedericks Professional Fire Fighters Association
- Executive Director Erin Longmire Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin
- Vice President Bob Bingen Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin/ Michels Corporation
- Eric McLeod Aggregate Producers of Wisconsin
- Town Chair Lester Lewis Town of Molitor
- Town Chair Steve Sohns Town of Gibraltar
- Gerry Derr Wisconsin Towns Association and the Town of Bristol
- Eric Down Milwaukee Professional Firefighters Association
- Vice-President Alexander Ayala Milwaukee Police Association
- President Danilo Cardenas National Latino Law Enforcement Organization (Milwaukee Chapter)
- Michelle Kussow Coalition to Repeal Wisconsin Personal Property Tax
- Vice-President Susan Quam Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- President Tim Sheehy Metro Milwaukee Association of Commerce
- Tom Kramer Town of Norway
- Mayor Casey Jones City of Brodhead
- President Joel Brennan Greater Milwaukee Committee

### Appearances Against

- Mayor Cory Mason City of Racine
- Mayor John Antaramian City of Kenosha
- County Supervisor Peter Burgelis Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors
- Representative/ County Supervisor Ryan Clancy -Wisconsin State Assembly/ Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors

Appearances for Information Only

- County Executive David Crowley Milwaukee County Executive
- Mayor Cavalier Johnson City of Milwaukee
- Jose Perez Milwaukee Common Council
- Mayor Katie Rosenberg City of Wausau
- Mayor Ryan Sorenson City of Sheboygan
- Mayor Eric Genrich City of Green Bay
- Mayor Mitch Reynolds City of La Crosse
- Mayor Dennis McBride City of Wauwatosa
- Past President Robin Lankton Wisconsin Public Health Association
- Finance Director Dave Godek City of Janesville
- County Supervisor Sequanna Taylor Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors
- Finance Director David Schmiedicke City of Madison
- State Government Affairs Liaison Nick Zavos City of Madison

### **Registrations For**

- Paul Esser City of Sun Prairie
- Alan DeYoung Wisconsin EMS Association
- Mayor Joel Ongert City of West Bend
- City Administrator Rebecca Grill City of West Allis
- Emily McFarland City of Watertown
- Andrew Disch Wisconsin Carpenters Union
- John Jacobson Wisconsin Property Taxpayers Association
- Mayor Mike Wiza City of Stevens Point
- Mark Rohloff City of Oshkosh
- Mayor Rick Petfalski City of Muskego

## **Registrations Against**

- Beverly Speer Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards

**Registrations for Information Only** 

- Dan Devine City of West Allis
- Sharon Schmeling Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Legislative Liaison Kevyn Radcliffe Department of Public Instruction
- Executive Director Beth Bennett Wisconsin Newspapers Association

- Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Mayor Tim Swadley City of Stoughton
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotels and Lodging Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses

#### May 11, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Novak; Representatives
		Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Krug, Michalski,
		Pronschinske, S. Johnson, Baldeh, Conley, C.
		Anderson and Ratcliff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Baldeh, seconded by Representative Conley that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(4)Representatives Baldeh, Conley, C.Anderson and Ratcliff.
- Noes: (8) Representative Novak; Representatives Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Krug, Michalski, Pronschinske and S. Johnson.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 4, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Gundrum that **Assembly Bill 245** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representative Novak; Representatives Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Krug, Michalski, Pronschinske and S. Johnson.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Baldeh, Conley, C. Anderson and Ratcliff.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Morgan O'Flahrity Committee Clerk