### Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Labor and Integrated Employment**

#### **Assembly Bill 150**

Relating to: various changes to the unemployment insurance law, federal Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessment grants, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Petryk, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Born, Brooks, Dallman, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Green, Gundrum, Macco, Magnafici, Michalski, Moses, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petersen, Plumer, Rettinger, Schmidt, Wichgers, Wittke and Pronschinske; cosponsored by Senators Quinn and Felzkowski.

April 07, 2023	Referred to Committee on Labor and Integrated Employment				
April 12, 2023	Public Hearing Held				
	Present:	(7)	Representative Penterman; Representatives Callahan, Edming, Gustafson, Petryk, Sinicki and Hong.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		
	Excused:	(2)	Representatives Sapik and Ohnstad.		
	Appearances For				
	• State Rep. Warren Petryk				
	Brian Dake - Wisconsin Independent Businesses				
	Adam Gibbs - Opportunity Solutions Project				
	Rachel VerVelde - Wisconsin Manufacturers and				
	Commerce (WMC)				
	• N	Aarie He	erm - Belmark		
	Appearances Against				
	• None.				
	Appearances for Information Only				

- Shane Griesbach Operating Engineers Local 139
- Arielle Exner Department of Workforce Development (DWD)

**Registrations For** 

- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Businesses (NFIB)
- Kyle Koenen Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty (WILL)

**Registrations Against** 

• Peter Bakken - Wisconsin Council of Churches

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

### April 19, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(8)	Representative Penterman; Representatives	
		Sapik, Callahan, Edming, Gustafson, Sinicki,	
		Ohnstad and Hong.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(1)	Representative Petryk.	

Moved by Representative Edming, seconded by Representative Gustafson that **Assembly Bill 150** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (5) Representative Penterman; Representatives Sapik, Callahan, Edming and Gustafson.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Ohnstad and Hong.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Jon Minneci Committee Clerk