# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Judiciary**

#### **Assembly Joint Resolution 1**

Relating to: conditions for release prior to conviction, including the imposition of bail (second consideration).

By Representatives Duchow, Neylon, Allen, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Michalski, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Ortiz-Velez, Rettinger, Rozar, Snyder, Sortwell, Steffen, Tittl, Wichgers and Wittke; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, Bradley, Testin, Felzkowski, Feyen, James, Quinn and Stroebel.

January 06, 2023 Referred to Committee on Judiciary

January 10, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (7) Representative Tusler; Representatives

Rettinger, Bodden, Gustafson, Sortwell, J.

Anderson and Ortiz-Velez.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Cindi Duchow 99th Assembly District
- Van Wanggaard 21 Senate District
- Michael Thurston Waukesha County Assistant District Attorney
- Mark Sette WI Fraternal Order of Police

#### **Appearances Against**

- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Ryan Clancy District 19 and Milwaukee County District
   4
- Rhonda Frank-Loron Dane County Pretrial Services
- Anthony Jurek Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- Sarah Schmeiser Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
- Charity Barry
- Jerome Dillard EXPO of Wisconsin
- Marianne Oleson EXPO of Wisconsin
- Brittany Moes Dream.org
- Craig Johnson WI Justice Initiative

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

None.

#### **Registrations For**

- James Fenley Wisconsin Chiefs of Police
- Julian Bradley 28th Senate District
- Steven Conway WIFOP
- Pearl Foster

### Registrations Against

- Darrin Madison 10th Assembly District
- Robert Nagel

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

### January 11, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (7) Representative Tusler; Representatives

Rettinger, Bodden, Gustafson, Sortwell, J.

Anderson and Ortiz-Velez.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Rettinger that **Assembly Joint Resolution 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (6) Representative Tusler; Representatives
Rettinger, Bodden, Gustafson, Sortwell and
Ortiz-Velez.

Noes: (1) Representative J. Anderson.

ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 1

Nick Schultz Committee Clerk