# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Housing and Real Estate**

### **Assembly Bill 198**

Relating to: local government review of commercial building plans. By Joint Legislative Council.

April 20, 2023 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

January 09, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Brooks; Representatives

Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Summerfield, Haywood, Emerson,

Bare and Clancy.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Pronschinske, Schraa and

Ortiz-Velez.

#### Appearances For

• Representative Rob Summerfield - Wisconsin State Legislature-67th Assembly District

#### **Appearances Against**

None.

## **Appearances for Information Only**

None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Senator Duey Stroebel Wisconsin State Legislature-20th Senate District
- Executive Director Brad Boycks Wisconsin Builders Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Cori Lamont Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities

## Registrations Against

 Michael Tierney - Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

# January 24, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug,
Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield,
Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and
Clancy.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 198** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa and Summerfield.

Noes: (5) Representatives Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and Clancy.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 198** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa and Summerfield.

Noes: (5) Representatives Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and Clancy.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Christopher Schaefer Committee Clerk