Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Housing and Real Estate

Assembly Bill 96

Relating to: developer-financed tax incremental districts.

By Representatives Plumer, Armstrong, Gundrum, Novak, O'Connor, Ohnstad and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Cowles and Quinn.

March 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

May 18, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Brooks; Representatives
Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug,
Murphy, Pronschinske, Summerfield,
Haywood, Emerson, Bare and Clancy.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Schraa and Ortiz-Velez.

Appearances For

- Representative Jon Plumer Wisconsin State Legislature-42nd Assembly District
- Senator Dan Feyen Wisconsin State Legislature-18th Senate District
- Terrence Wall T-Wall Properties
- Bryan Gadow City of Middleton
- Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Michael Welsh Wisconsin Economic Development Association
- Gary Goyke Wisconsin Real Estate Investors
- Christopher Mokler Wisconsin Real Estate Investors
- Senator Duey Stroebel Wisconsin State Legislature-20th Senate District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 06, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Brooks; Representatives

Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield, Haywood, Emerson, Ortiz-Velez, Bare and

Clancy.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Penterman, seconded by Representative Armstrong that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa,

Summerfield, Emerson, Bare and Clancy.

Noes: (1) Representative Ortiz-Velez.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben, Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield, Emerson, Bare and Clancy.

Noes: (1) Representative Ortiz-Velez.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 96** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Brooks; Representatives Penterman, Allen, Armstrong, Goeben,

Krug, Murphy, Pronschinske, Schraa, Summerfield, Haywood and Bare.

Noes: (3) Representatives Emerson, Ortiz-Velez and Clancy.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 3

Christopher Schaefer Committee Clerk