## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

#### **Assembly Bill 1078**

Relating to: funding for hospital emergency department services.

By Representatives Summerfield, Hurd, Moses, Petryk, Pronschinske, Armstrong and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators James and Quinn.

February 09, 2024 Referred to Committee on Health, Aging and Long-Term Care

February 14, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (15) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Murphy, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Magnafici.

#### Appearances For

- Senator Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- Representative Rob Summerfield Assembly District 67
- Randy Scholz Chippewa County
- Dean Gullichson Chippewa County
- Dr. Brian Huerneman Marshfield Clinic Health System
- Sashi Gregory WI Primary Health Care Association
- Sal Braico Pivotal Health
- Rog Atkinson

#### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Scott Rogers Eau Claire Chamber
- Disa Wahlstrand
- Joe Knight
- John Jacobson Ruder Ware, LLSC
- Kyle O'Brien WI Hospital Association
- Jennifer Shilling Mayo Clinic Health System
- James Flater Chippewa County Supervisor District #1

- Dean Mueller Chippewa County Supervisor District #20
- Kari Ives Chippewa County Supervisor District #21
- Glen Sikorski Chippewa County Supervisor District #6
- Joel Seidlitz Chippewa County Supervisor District 9
- Matthew Peterson Chippewa County Supervisor District #10
- Chuck Hull Chippewa County Supervisor District #19
- Pete Johnson
- Forbes McIntosh ASPIRUS Health

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

• HJ Waukau - Department of Health Services

### February 14, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Murphy, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield, VanderMeer, Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Magnafici.

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Bill 1078** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Moses; Representatives Rozar, Brooks, Dittrich, Gundrum, Murphy, Sapik, Schutt, Summerfield and VanderMeer.

Noes: (5) Representatives Subeck, Riemer, J. Anderson, Vining and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Maryjane Behm
Committee Clerk