Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Financial Institutions

Assembly Bill 715

Relating to: authorized activities and operations of credit unions; the lending area of savings and loan associations; automated teller machines; residential mortgage loans and variable rate loans; payments for public deposit losses in failed financial institutions; promissory notes of certain public bodies; repealing rules promulgated by the Department of Financial Institutions; providing an exemption from rule-making procedures; and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Katsma, Murphy, O'Connor, Allen, Behnke, Dittrich, Goeben, Gundrum, Novak, Penterman and Rettinger; cosponsored by Senators Stafsholt, Cabral-Guevara, Felzkowski, Marklein and Taylor.

November 27, 2023 Referred to Committee on Financial Institutions

December 05, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Duchow; Representatives O'Connor, Allen, Katsma, Murphy, Petryk, Rettinger, J. Anderson and Jacobson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Doyle.

Appearances For

- Representative Terry Katsma 26th Assembly District
- Sarah Wainscott Wisconsin Credit Union League
- Chris Moczynski Prime Financial Credit Union
- Lorenzo Cruz Wisconsin Bankers Association
- Gary Kuter Wisconsin Bankers Association
- Jeffrey Vohs Wisconsin Bankers Association

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Rob Stafsholt 10th Senate District
- Assistant Deputy Secretary Catherine Haberland -Wisconsin Department of Financial Institutions
- Rene Kaiser Capitol Bank
- Anne Conlin Capitol Bank

- Amy Gile-Enge Capitol Bank
- Ken Thompson Capitol Bank
- Scott Stewart Heartland Credit Union
- Staci Schoenrock Fort Community Credit Union
- Jeff Scheuerell Fort Community Credit Union
- Jennifer Rathke WESTconsin Credit Union
- Marie Gremore WESTconsin Credit Union
- Maddie Weber WESTconsin Credit Union

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 10, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Duchow; Representatives O'Connor, Allen, Katsma, Murphy, Petryk, Rettinger, J. Anderson and Jacobson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Doyle.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Katsma that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Duchow; Representatives O'Connor, Allen, Katsma, Murphy, Rettinger, J. Anderson and Jacobson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Katsma, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Bill 715** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Duchow; Representatives O'Connor, Allen, Katsma, Murphy, Petryk, Rettinger, J. Anderson and Jacobson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Dan Hubert Committee Clerk