## Assembly

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

### Assembly Bill 258

Relating to: authorizing community solar programs and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Krug, Brooks, Tusler, Gundrum, Rozar, Allen, Binsfeld, Bodden, Maxey, Penterman and Schmidt; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara and Cowles.

May 08, 2023	Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities		
February 14, 2024	Public Hearing Held		
	Present:	(15)	Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Moore Omokunde, Haywood and Ratcliff.
	Absent:	(1)	Representative Drake.
	Excused:	(0)	None.
	Appearance	ces For	
	• State Senator Duey Stroebel - 20th Senate District		
	• State Representative Scott Krug - 72nd Assembly District		
	• Kevin Riemer - Representing Self		
	• Matt Hargarten - Coalition for Community Solar Access		

- Sarah Moon Fieldworks Power, LLC
- Joel Gamoran Arcadia
- Justin Smith Arch Electric
- John Schulze ABC
- Steve Chriss Walmart
- Lisa Nelson Walmart
- Brandon Schulz WI Grocers Association
- Jason Mugnaini WI Farm Bureau
- Lauren Rownd Engie North America

Appearances Against

- Tyrel Zich Xcel Energy
- Zack Hill Alliant Energy
- Steve Kwaterski WI Laborers' District Council
- Carly Eaton BlueGreen Alliance
- James Buchen WI Utility Investors

- Tom Wilcot Farmland First
- Craig Summerfield WMC
- Nick Webber International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Scott Smith MG&E

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## **Registrations For**

- Beata Wierzba RENEW Wisconsin
- Leo Cox Sunshine, LLC
- Ryan Huebsch Wisconsin Conservative Energy Forum
- Senator Rob Cowles 2nd Senate District
- Katie Scott League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Paul Rozeski WI Property Taxpayers
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Jim Villa NAIOP
- Cori Lamont WI Realtors Association
- Michelle Ramirez-White WI Farmers Union
- Brianna Fiorillo Lightstar Renewables

## **Registrations Against**

- Nick Webber International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
- Chris LaRowe WEC Energy Group
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- Susie Schoof Dairyland Power
- Misha Lee Construction Business Group
- Terry McGowen Operating Engineers Local 139
- Andrew Disch Carpenters Union
- Kristin Gilkes Customers First Coalition
- Tyler Vorpagel Municipal Utilities of Wisconsin
- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- Rob Richard WECA

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

April 11, 2024 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk