# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

## **Assembly Bill 846**

Relating to: exemptions from public utility regulation regarding electric vehicle charging stations, installation and operation of electric vehicle charging stations by state agencies or local governmental units, and imposing an excise tax on electric vehicle charging.

By Representatives VanderMeer, Gustafson, Oldenburg, Brandtjen, Duchow, Goeben, Gundrum, Hurd, Mursau, Petersen and Tranel; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Quinn, Ballweg, Bradley, Felzkowski, Knodl, Stafsholt, Taylor and Testin.

December 22, 2023 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

January 09, 2024 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives

Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde,

Haywood and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

### Appearances For

- State Representative Nancy VanderMeer
- Emma Heins Electrification Coalition
- Craig Summerfiel WMC
- Susie Schoof Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Ben Porath Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Beata Wierzba RENEW Wisconsin
- Jenny Malcore Kwik Trip
- Zach Kahn Tesla

## Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

- Kaleb Vander Wiele Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Kristina Boardman Wisconsin Department of Transportation
- Allison Carlson Wisconsin Local Government Climate Coalition

# Registrations For

- Jordan Primakow City of Milwaukee
- Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Kristin Gilkes Customers First Coalition
- Rob Richard WI Electric Cooperative Association
- Matt Spencer Madison Gas & Electric
- Christopher LaRowe WEC Energy Group
- Tyler Vorpagel Municipal Electric Utilities of WI
- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy
- Jolene Plautz WI Towns Association
- Jolene Plautz Kwik Trip
- Brandon Scholz WI Grocers
- Brandon Scholz WI Conservative Energy Forum
- Ryan Huebsch Conservative Energy Forum
- Michelle Kussow 7-Eleven
- Senator Howard Marklein
- Ben Porath Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Andy Engel Alliance for Automotive Innovation
- Tom Moore Energy Action Fund
- Mary Collins American Lung Association
- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- Matt Hauser WI Fuel & Retail Association

## **Registrations Against**

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

## January 10, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Steffen; Representatives

Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Moore Omokunde, Haywood

and Ratcliff.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Drake.

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tranel, Subeck, Moore Omokunde, Haywood and Ratcliff.

Noes: (1) Representative Tittl.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Haywood that **Assembly Bill 846** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Moore Omokunde, Haywood and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk