## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

### Assembly Bill 878

Relating to: increasing the penalties for gas pipeline safety violations and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Summerfield, Dittrich, O'Connor and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Bradley and Spreitzer.

| January 02, 2024 | Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities             |   |  |  |
|------------------|---|---|--|--|
| January 09, 2024 | Public Hearing Held                                       |   |  |  |
|                  | Present:  | (16)  | Representative Steffen; Representatives<br>Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon,<br>Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl,<br>Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde,<br>Haywood and Ratcliff. |  |
|                  | Absent:   | (0)   | None.  |  |
|                  | Excused:  | (0)   | None.  |  |
|                  | • M<br>• B<br><u>Appearanc</u><br>• N<br><u>Appearanc</u> | tate Rep<br>Iatt Swo<br>Sill Skev<br><u>es Agai</u><br>Ione.<br><u>es for I</u> i | presentative Rob Summerfield<br>eeney - Public Service Commission<br>wes - Wisconsin Utilities Association<br><u>nst</u>   |  |
|                  | • N   | lone.   |  |  |
|                  | • C<br>• N<br>• Z   | Aatt Pag<br>Christopl<br>Aatt Spe<br>Cack Hi                                      | el - Xcel Energy<br>her LaRowe - WEC Energy Group<br>encer - Madison Gas & Electric<br>Il - Alliant Energy<br>Julian Bradley   |  |
|                  | Registrations Against                                     |   |  |  |
|                  | <b>N</b> .  | т   |  |  |

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### January 10, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

| Present: | (15) | Representative Steffen; Representatives       |
|----------|------|---|
|          |      | Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon,           |
|          |      | Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, |
|          |      | Tranel, Subeck, Moore Omokunde, Haywood       |
|          |      | and Ratcliff.                                 |
| Absent:  | (0)  | None.   |
| Excused: | (1)  | Representative Drake.                         |

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Subeck that **Assembly Bill 878** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Tranel, Subeck, Moore Omokunde, Haywood and Ratcliff.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk