## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Energy and Utilities**

## **Assembly Bill 470**

Relating to: an incumbent transmission facility owner's right to construct, own, and maintain certain transmission facilities and Public Service Commission procedures if the transmission facility is a regionally cost-shared transmission line.

By Representatives Petersen, Mursau, O'Connor, Plumer, Steffen, Swearingen and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Bradley, Marklein and Wanggaard.

October 05, 2023	Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities
------------------	---

October 10, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present:	(16)	Representative Steffen; Representatives
		Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon,
		Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl,
		Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde,
		Haywood and Ratcliff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

## Appearances For

- State Representative Kevin Petersen
- State Senator Julian Bradley
- Tony Clark ATC
- Karl Hoesly Xcel Energy
- Bill Marsan ATC
- Mike Hofbauer ATC
- Tyler Vorpagel Municipal Electric Utilities of Wisconsin
- Rick Wicklund Sun Prairie Utilities
- Bruce Gomm Shawano Municipal Utilities
- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Brad Jackson Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Mark Spitzer Edison Electric
- Chris Ventura Consumer Energy Alliance

Appearances Against

- Jesse Singerhouse Dunn Electric Cooperative
- Jennifer Shilling Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Ben Porath Dairyland Power Cooperative

- Neil Chatterjee Former FERC Chairman
- Todd Stuart WIEG
- Nathan LaFrance Ahlstrom (WIEG Panel)
- Lane Ruhland WIEG
- Marco Gonzalez Waupaca Foundry (WIEG Panel)
- Randel Pilo WIEG
- Pat Henderson Quad Graphics (WIEG Panel)
- Thomas Content Citizens Utility Board of Wisconsin
- David Bowen AARP WI
- Jerry Ponio Americans for Prosperity, WI

#### Appearances for Information Only

• Bob Kuzman - MISO

## **Registrations For**

- Steve Conway ITC Holdings Inc.
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group, We Energies & WPS
- Kathi Kilgore Fair Rates for Wisconsin's Dairyland (FRWD)
- Zachary Hill Alliant Energy
- James Buchen Wisconsin Utility Investors
- Matthew Spencer MG&E

## **Registrations Against**

- Erik Kanter Clean Wisconsin
- John West Adams-Columbia Electric Cooperative
- Shane Larson Rock Energy Cooperative
- Lila Shower Central Wisconsin Electric Cooperative
- Rob Richard WECA
- Jason Culotta Midwest Food Products Association
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network

### **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

### November 01, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (16) Representative Steffen; Representatives Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl,

		Tranel, Subeck, Drake, Moore Omokunde,
		Haywood and Ratcliff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Petersen, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Bill 470** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes:(12)Representative Steffen; Representatives<br/>Summerfield, Donovan, Hurd, Neylon,<br/>Petersen, Petryk, Sortwell, Tittl, Subeck,<br/>Drake and Ratcliff.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Oldenburg, Tranel, Moore Omokunde and Haywood.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 4

Nicole Walentowski-Domokos Committee Clerk