Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 1050

Relating to: position authorizations in the Office of School Safety and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Novak, Tranel, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Conley, Dittrich, Doyle, Edming, Jacobson, Maxey, Shankland, Sinicki, S. Johnson, Green, Brandtjen and Joers; cosponsored by Senators Quinn, Felzkowski and Spreitzer.

February 02, 2024 Referred to Committee on Education

February 07, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton, Considine,

Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

Appearances For

- Representative Todd Novak 51st Assembly District
- Trish Kilpin Office of School Safety WI Department of Justice
- Chaplain Cody Kargus Rice Lake Police Department

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie School District
- Senator Romaine Quinn 25th Senate District
- David Martin WASB
- Daniel Henderson WI Council of Relgious and Independent Schools
- Tom McCarthy DPI

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 14, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski,

Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton,

Considine, Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Binsfeld that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau,
Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers,
Wittke, Shelton, Considine, Myers and
Hong.

Noes: (1) Representative Andraca.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Penterman, seconded by Representative Mursau that **Assembly Bill 1050** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau,
Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers,
Wittke, Shelton, Considine, Myers, Andraca
and Hong.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Bob Delaporte
Committee Clerk