Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 688

Relating to: reductions to state aid paid to school districts for payments to certain independent charter schools.

By Representatives Schutt, Dittrich, Goeben, Baldeh, Rozar, O'Connor, Rettinger, Brandtjen and Behnke; cosponsored by Senators Jagler, Ballweg, Stroebel, Marklein and Nass.

November 27, 2023 Referred to Committee on Education

February 07, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton, Considine,

Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

Appearances For

- Representative Ellen Schutt 31st Assembly District
- Representative Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District
- Senator Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Senator John Jagler 13th Senate District
- Representative Dave Maxey 15th Assembly District
- Patrick Miller New Berlin School District
- Kaleem Care One City Schools

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Tom McCarthy Department of Public Instruction
- Russ Kava Legislative Fiscal Bureau

Registrations For

- Andrew Davis Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce
- Rachel VerVelde Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Paul Rozeski Wisconsin Property Taxpayers
- David Martin Wisconsin Association of School Boards

- Bob Welch One City Schools/Stridde
- Jim Bender Wisconsin Independent Charter Advocates,
 Yes Every Kid, Badger Institute, Lincoln Academy

Registrations Against

Jack O'Meara - WEAC

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 14, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Kitchens; Representatives
Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski,
Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton,

Considine, Myers, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Bill 688** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski, Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers,

Wittke and Myers.

Noes: (4) Representatives Shelton, Considine, Andraca and Hong.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Bob Delaporte

Committee Clerk