# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

### **Assembly Bill 163**

Relating to: supplying anti-choking devices in schools.

By Representatives Tranel, Magnafici, Behnke, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Duchow, Green, Gundrum, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau, Myers, Novak, Oldenburg, Pronschinske, Rozar, Schraa and Spiros; cosponsored by Senator Cabral-Guevara.

April 10, 2023 Referred to Committee on Education

July 20, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (11) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Mursau, Nedweski,

Penterman, Rozar, Wittke, Considine and

Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Wichgers, Shelton, Myers and

Andraca.

## Appearances For

- Rep. Travis Tranel 49th Assembly District
- Courtney Bruegmann
- Jaelynn Bruegmann
- Jane Wonderling Fennimore Community Schools
- Doug Wieszba Secure ID, LLC
- Antonia L'Abbak Equal First Aid
- Steven Mattocks Equal First Aid
- Carol Megna Equal First Aid
- Arthur Lih LifeVac
- Sierra Sanger
- Claire Yanna
- Dan Hubert
- Leslie Hubert

## **Appearances Against**

- Kevyn Radcliffe Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Louise Wilson Wisconsin DPI
- Jamie Trzebiatowski Wisconsin Association of School Nurses
- Jack O'Meara Wisconsin Association of School Nurses

### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Senator Rachel Cabral-Guevara 19th Senate District
- Senator Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Clete Jerrett
- Tina Jerret Jones
- Kasey Kirschbaum
- Matt Bruegmann
- Iralynn Bruemann
- Dr. Jamie Nutter
- Alderman Jonathan Logemann 2nd Ward
- Nathan Flynn
- Mark Megna Equal First Aid

## **Registrations Against**

None.

#### **Registrations for Information Only**

None.

#### October 10, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Dittrich, Binsfeld, Mursau, Nedweski,

Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton,

Considine, Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Duchow and Myers.

Moved by Representative Penterman, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Bill 163** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Kitchens; Representatives Dittrich, Binsfeld, Mursau, Nedweski,

Penterman, Rozar, Wichgers and Wittke.

Noes: (4) Representatives Shelton, Considine, Andraca and Hong.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Bob Delaporte

Committee Clerk