Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 305

Relating to: increasing the per pupil payments in parental choice programs and the Special Needs Scholarship program and the per pupil payments made to independent charter schools and increasing the revenue ceiling for school districts.

By Representative Vos; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Hutton and Jagler.

June 09, 2023 Referred to Committee on Education

June 13, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Kitchens; Representatives

Dittrich, Binsfeld, Duchow, Nedweski, Rozar, Wichgers, Wittke, Shelton, Considine, Myers,

Andraca and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Mursau and Penterman.

Appearances For

- Rep. Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District
- Dr. Howard Fuller Wisconsin Independent Charter School Advocates
- Jacob Allen Wisconsin Independent Charter School Advocates
- Jim Bender Wisconsin Independent Charter School Advocates
- Nazir Ali Wisconsin Independent Charter School Advocates
- Donna Bembenck Catholic Memorial High School
- Edward DeShazer Greater Holy Temple Christian Academy
- John Edelblute IV American Legion
- Brittany Kinser City Forward Collective
- Collective Collective
- La Toya Woods Rocketship Public Schools
- Anthony McHenry Milwaukee Academy of Science
- Kadeem Gill City Forward Collective
- Nataly Andrade Hispanics for School Choice
- Chuck Moore Impact Christian Schools
- Toriana Pettaway

Appearances Against

- Amy Nasr Fox Cities Advocates for Public Education
- Christian Phelps WI Public Education Networks
- Chris Kulow Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Sandy Whisler
- Ingrid Walker-Henry Milwaukee Teachers Education Association
- Peggy Wirtz-Olsen WEAC
- Kim Kohlhaas AFT-Wisconsin
- Heather DuBois Bourenane WI Public Education Network

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Jerry Ponio Americans for Prosperity
- Catherine Stampley
- Susan Mitchell School Choice Wisconsin Action
- Mari Cevilla Bruce School
- Alex Ignatowski IRG Action Fund
- Kaleem Caire One City Schools
- Ieshia Wiggins-Vidal Rocketship Public Schools
- Rachel VerVelde WMC
- Kyle Koenen Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty
- Brian Pleva Northwestern Mutual
- Andrew Davis MMAC
- David Earleywine Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Sharon Schmeling Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Lois Fletcher
- Precious Washington
- Patricia Cifax City Forward Collective
- Sharon Schmeling Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools
- Kayla Martin Rocketship Public Schools
- Brendy Torres Rocketship Transformation Prep North Side Campus
- Jackie Carr Rocketship Transformation Prep North Side Campus
- Shawn Nickson
- Nelly Hernandez CFC Rocketship

Registrations Against

- Rep. Ryan Clancy 19th Assembly District
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie Area School District
- Nicole Etter Support Our Schools Wauwatosa
- Marcia Engen Wisconsin Alliance for Excellent Schools

Registrations for Information Only

• Lauri Asbury - Neenah Joint School District

April 11, 2024 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Bob Delaporte Committee Clerk