Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 950

Relating to: excepting xylazine testing materials from the definition of drug paraphernalia and civil and criminal liability exemptions for distributing and administering xylazine testing products.

By Representatives Kitchens, Billings, C. Anderson, Behnke, Conley, Considine, Dittrich, Duchow, Gundrum, Jacobson, Mursau, Myers, Nedweski, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Rozar, Shankland, Sinicki and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators James, Agard, L. Johnson, Pfaff, Roys and Spreitzer.

January 12, 2024 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

February 01, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(15)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
		Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,
		Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,
		Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Rep Jill Billings 95th Assembly District
- Rep Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District
- Chelsea Fibert Wisconsin Counties Association
- Kristen Grimes Vivent Health
- Maggie Williams WI Society of Addiction Medicine

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- HJ Waukau Wisconsin Department of Health Services
- Caty McDermott Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Adam Jordahl Badger State Sheriffs Association
- Hannah Huffman WI Association for the Treatment of Opoiod Dependence

- James Palmer WPPA
- Alice O'Conner WPPA

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 08, 2024 Executive Session Held

- Present:(15)Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,
Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,
Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.Absent:(0)None.
- Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Bill 950** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Cameil Bowler Committee Clerk