Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 967

Relating to: withholding judicial security profiles from public access.

By Representatives Tusler and Ortiz-Velez; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard and Taylor.

January 16, 2024	Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety				
January 24, 2024	Public Hearing Held				
	Present:	(15)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		
	Excused:	(0)	None.		
	 <u>Appearances For</u> Scott Nordstrand - Wisconsin Courts Mark Frenger - Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association Jason Hanson - Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners Hon Maria Lazar - Court of Appeals Dean Dietrich - State Bar of Wisconsin <u>Appearances Against</u> None. 				
		one.			
	• So • R	ynne Da en Van ichard C	avis - State Bar of Wisconsin Wanggaard - 21st Senate District Giakowski - WI Punicipal Judges Association Attavas - Milwaukee County Circuit Court		

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 01, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present:	(15)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,	
		Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,	
		Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,	
		Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(0)	None.	

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Bill 967** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Stubbs and Madison.
- Noes: (1) Representative Emerson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Cameil Bowler Committee Clerk