Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 960

Relating to: emergency communications device location information.

By Representatives Kitchens, Dittrich, Donovan, Gundrum, Murphy, Mursau, O'Connor, Penterman and Brandtjen; cosponsored by Senators James, Ballweg, Jacque and Wanggaard.

January 16, 2024 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 24, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,

Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,

Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep Joel Kitchens 1st Assembly District
- Conor Waterstreet Door County Youth in Government
- Carl Waterstreet Door County Sheriffs Office

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Sen Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- Caty McDermott Badger State Sheriffs Association & WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Jim Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Professional Police Association

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 01, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Green that **Assembly Bill 960** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers and Sortwell.

Noes: (5) Representatives Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Cameil Bowler
Committee Clerk