Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 615

Relating to: creating a task force on missing and murdered African American women and girls.

By Representatives Stubbs, Schraa, Brooks, Baldeh, Novak, Drake, Moore Omokunde, Snyder, O'Connor, Palmeri, Magnafici, Madison, Goyke, Shelton, Mursau, Ohnstad, Conley, Armstrong, Tranel, Ortiz-Velez, Shankland, Edming, Andraca, Joers, Vining, Cabrera, Considine, C. Anderson, Hurd, Behnke, Subeck, Neubauer, Hong, Sinicki, S. Johnson, Ratcliff, Myers, Brandtjen, J. Anderson, Clancy and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators James, L. Johnson, Taylor, Agard, Carpenter, Larson, Smith, Spreitzer, Roys and Wirch.

December 12, 2023 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 17, 2024 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep Shelia Stubbs 77th Assembly District
- Rep Michael Schraa 53rd Assembly District
- Sen Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- Sen LaTonya Johnson 6th Senate District
- Chief Shon Barnes Madison Police Department
- Georgia Hill
- Regina Williams Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- James Bohl City of Milwaukee
- Elden Linda Hoskins
- Regenial Hoskins

- Gregory Hoskins
- Yolanda McGowan Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
- Rep Dora Drake
- Kirbie Msik Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
- Sharon Williams Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
- Candace McDowell delta Sigma Theta Sorority
- Kimberly Eubanks Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
- Michelle Brown Delta Sigma Theta
- Angela Arlington Delta Sigma Theta
- NaKeisha Payne Delta Sigma Theta
- Tanesha Jones Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
- Anita Sparks Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
- Earnestine Moss Delta Sigma Theta Sorority
- Rosa Thompson Delta Sigma Theta
- Linda Caples Delta Sigma Theta
- Kiana McCoy Delta Sigma Theta
- Karen Nelson

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 24, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,

Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Stubbs that **Assembly Bill 615** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Cameil Bowler Committee Clerk