Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 37

Relating to: expungement of records of certain crimes and discrimination based on expunged conviction.

By Representatives Steffen, Tittl, Goyke, C. Anderson, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Bare, Billings, Brooks, Cabrera, Clancy, Conley, Considine, Donovan, Doyle, Drake, Edming, Emerson, Gundrum, Gustafson, Haywood, Hong, Joers, Kitchens, Krug, Macco, Madison, McGuire, Moore Omokunde, Moses, Mursau, Myers, Novak, O'Connor, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Ratcliff, Riemer, Rozar, Schmidt, Schraa, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Snyder, Sortwell, Stubbs, Subeck, Vining, Zimmerman and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara, Wimberger, Roys, Felzkowski, James, L. Johnson, Larson, Spreitzer, Taylor, Wanggaard and Wirch.

February 13, 2023	Referred to Committee on Criminal Ju	stice and Public Safetv

January 11, 2024 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,	
		Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Steffen,	
		Wichgers, Sortwell, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs	
		and Madison.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Schraa and Drake.	

Appearances For

- Rep David Steffen 4th Assembly District
- Rep Evan Goyke 18th Assembly District
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- David Earleyvine Wisconsin Catholic Conference

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen Rachel Cabral-Guevara 19th Assembly District
- Rep Scott Krug 72nd Assembly District
- Hannah Huffman UMOS
- Jamiroquan Kittler Americans for Prosperity- WI
- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender

- Lynne Davis State Bar of Wisconsin
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Businesses
- Carrie Springer Dane County
- Alex Ayala Milwaukee Police Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 17, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
		Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,
		Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,
		Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Madison that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Schraa, seconded by Representative Sortwell that **Assembly Bill 37** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Cameil Bowler Committee Clerk