# **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety**

#### Assembly Bill 634

Relating to: immunity for certain controlled substances offenses for aiders and aided persons.

By Representatives Rozar, Ortiz-Velez, C. Anderson, Andraca, Baldeh, Billings, Cabrera, Clancy, Conley, Considine, Dittrich, Doyle, Drake, Edming, Krug, Madison, Moses, Mursau, Ohnstad, Plumer, Sinicki, Stubbs and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators James, Taylor, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Hesselbein, Knodl, Roys, Smith, Spreitzer and Testin.

November 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

November 30, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell,
Drake, McGuire, Emerson and Madison.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Duchow, Novak, Green and

Stubbs.

#### Appearances For

- Rep Donna Rozar 69th Assembly District
- Rep Sylvia Ortiz Velez 8th Assembly District
- Sen Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- Dr Ritu Bhatnagar WI Society of Addiction Medicine
- Bev Kelley-Miller
- Bill Keeton Vivent Health
- Annette Czarnecki
- Skye Boughman

#### Appearances Against

None.

### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Hannah Huffman Wisconsin Association for the Treatment of Opioid Epidemic
- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Public Health Association

- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Association of Local Health Departments and Boards
- Adam Plotkin State Public Defender
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Attorney General Josh Kaul Wisconsin Department of Justice

### Registrations Against

None.

### **Registrations for Information Only**

• HJ Haukau - Wi Department of Health Services

## January 11, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Steffen,
Wichgers, Sortwell, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs
and Madison.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Schraa and Drake.

Moved by Representative Emerson, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Bill 634** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Steffen, Wichgers, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (1) Representative Sortwell.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Cameil Bowler
Committee Clerk