### **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety**

#### **Assembly Bill 637**

Relating to: removing a catalytic converter without consent and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Rettinger, Donovan, Allen, Behnke, Dittrich, Duchow, Goeben, Maxey, Melotik, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, O'Connor, Palmeri, Penterman, Sapik, Sortwell and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Knodl, Ballweg, Carpenter, Marklein, Nass and Roys.

November 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

November 30, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell,
Drake, McGuire, Emerson and Madison.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Duchow, Novak, Green and Stubbs.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Nik Rettinger 83rd Assembly District
- Rep Elijah Behnke 89th Assembly District
- April DeValkenaere Waukesha County District Attorneys Office
- Ryan Windorff Wisconsin Fraternal Order of Police

### Appearances Against

• None.

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Catherine McDermott Badger State Sheriff's Association
- Catherine McDermott WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Andy Engel Alliance for Automotive Innovation
- Jack O'Meana WI Car Rental Alliance
- Amy Boyer AAA Wisconsin
- Andy Franken Wisconsin Insurance Alliance

• Amy Boyer - National Insurance Crime Bureau

#### **Registrations Against**

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### January 11, 2024 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Steffen,
Wichgers, Sortwell, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs

and Madison.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Schraa and Drake.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Green that **Assembly Bill 637** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Cameil Bowler Committee Clerk