Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 129

Relating to: sexual assault by a health care provider and providing a penalty. By Representatives Dittrich, Subeck, Penterman, Krug, Gundrum, Bodden, Rozar, Emerson, Rodriguez, Schutt, Kitchens, Sinicki, Andraca, Brooks, Green, Joers, Brandtjen, Ortiz-Velez, Conley, Gustafson, Jacobson, Allen, J. Anderson, Clancy, C. Anderson, Ohnstad, Madison, Considine, S. Johnson, Baldeh, Shankland, Mursau and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Agard, Roys, Hesselbein, Spreitzer, Stroebel, Larson, Wirch and Marklein.

March 24, 2023 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

June 01, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(15)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.
Absent: Excused:	(0) (0)	None.

Appearances For

- Barb Dittrich 38th Assembly District
- Lisa Subeck 78th Assembly District
- Sheriff Kalvin Barrett Dane County Sheriff's Department

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Denise Armstrong Madison Police Department
- Ian Henderson WI Coalition Against Sexual Assault

Registrations For

- Senator Joan Ballweg 14th Senate District
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Jim Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Connie Schulze UW Health
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers Wisconsin

- Nathan Butzlaff Wisconsin Hospice and Palliative Care Association
- Pastor Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy in WI

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 07, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
		Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen,
		Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson,
		Stubbs and Madison.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Duchow.

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Green that **Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:(14)Representative Spiros; Representatives
Schutt, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,
Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake,
McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0 Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Novak that **Assembly Bill 129** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Cameil Bowler Committee Clerk