Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 58

Relating to: mandatory minimum sentence for felons who illegally possess a firearm and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Michalski, Duchow, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Dittrich, Donovan, Gundrum, Maxey, Murphy, O'Connor and Rettinger; cosponsored by Senators James, Feyen, Nass, Stroebel and Wanggaard.

February 23, 2023 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

February 28, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,

Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,

Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Appearances For

- Sen. Jesse James 23rd Senate District
- Rep. Tom Michalski 13th Assembly District
- Dean Smith Wisconsin Chiefs Police Association
- Aaron Chapin Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Michael Steffes Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Rob Lloyd Wisconsin Fraternal Order of Police
- Alex Alaya Milwaukee Police Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Caty McDermott Badger State Sheriffs Association
- Rep. Dan Knodl 24th Assembly District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 07, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,

Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,

Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Sortwell that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson and Stubbs.

Noes: (1) Representative Madison.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Green that **Assembly Bill 58** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers and Sortwell.

Noes: (5) Representatives Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Cameil Bowler
Committee Clerk