Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Consumer Protection

Assembly Bill 468

Relating to: prohibiting firearms merchant category codes in payment card transactions, prohibiting government lists of firearm owners, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Bodden, Behnke, Armstrong, Binsfeld, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Goeben, Green, Gustafson, Magnafici, Murphy, O'Connor, Rettinger, Rozar, Schmidt, Schutt and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Stafsholt, Marklein, Nass, Stroebel, Tomczyk and Wanggaard.

October 05, 2023 Referred to Committee on Consumer Protection

November 02, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(6)	Representative Callahan; Representatives
		Behnke, Rettinger, Schmidt, Ortiz-Velez and
		Jacobson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives S. Johnson, Pronschinske and
		Cabrera.

Appearances For

- Representative Ty Bodden 59th Assembly District
- Christopher Lee NSSF The Firearm Industry Trade Assn.
- Victoria LaBrosse WI Firearm Owners
- Bob Welch WI Firearm Owners
- Bob Welch WI Bear Hunters Assn.
- Rebecca Yackley

Appearances Against

• Anneliese Dickman - Brady Campaign to Prevent Gun Violence

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 11, 2024 Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Callahan; Representatives S.
		Johnson, Behnke, Pronschinske, Rettinger,
		Schmidt, Ortiz-Velez, Cabrera and Jacobson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Johnson, seconded by Representative Rettinger that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(6)	Representative Callahan; Representatives S.
		Johnson, Behnke, Pronschinske, Rettinger
		and Schmidt.

Noes: (2) Representatives Cabrera and Jacobson.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Rettinger, seconded by Representative Behnke that **Assembly Bill 468** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Callahan; Representatives S. Johnson, Behnke, Pronschinske, Rettinger and Schmidt.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Ortiz-Velez, Cabrera and Jacobson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Wyatt Cooper Committee Clerk