Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 554

Relating to: race-based higher education programs and requirements.

By Representatives Rettinger, Magnafici, Allen, Behnke, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dallman, Dittrich, Goeben, Gundrum, Krug, Maxey, Murphy, Nedweski, O'Connor and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Wanggaard and Nass.

October 24, 2023 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

October 26, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J.

Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- State Representative Nik Rettinger Wisconsin State Assembly
- Dan Lennington Wisconsin Institute for Law and Liberty

Appearances Against

• Sate Representative LaKeshia Myers - Wisconsin State Assembly

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

• Senator Eric Wimberger - Wisconsin State Senate

Registrations Against

- State Senator Lena Taylor Wisconsin State Senate
- Jack Daniels Madison Area Technical College
- Jack O'Meara Wis Education Association Council
- Mia Tatum-Cndes
- Donald Dantzler
- Rev. William Walker

- Dr. Patricia Ellis Milwaukee Alliance of Black School Educators
- Sheena Russell
- Thelma Chancellor
- Johnny Myers
- Girtha Myers
- Michelle Bryant

Registrations for Information Only

- Deej Lundgren Universities of Wisconsin
- Rebecca Larson Wis Assoc of Independent Colleges & Universities

November 02, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben,
Schutt S. Johnson Micheleki O'Gonnon

Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Goeben that **Assembly Bill 554** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben,

Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski and O'Connor.

Noes: (4) Representatives Stubbs, Joers, Shankland

and J. Anderson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 4

Steve Knudson

Committee Clerk