Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 553

Relating to: free speech and academic freedom at University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges, due process in disciplinary proceedings at University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges, Wisconsin grant funding allocation, and causes of action against the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System and technical college district boards.

By Representatives Nedweski, Murphy, Allen, Behnke, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Goeben, Gundrum, Maxey, Moses, O'Connor, Penterman, Rettinger, Schraa and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara and Tomczyk.

October 23, 2023 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

October 26, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- State Representative Amanda Nedweski Wisconsin State Assembly
- Michael Mosicke State Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara
- Joe Cohn F.I.R.E.
- Professor Emeritus Don Downs UW-Madison
- Professor Emeritus Joe Heim
- Tim Higgins Free Speech for Campus

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Dr. Jaqueline Pfeffer-Merrill Bipartisan Policy Center
- Jeff Burandt Universities of Wisconsin

Registrations For

 State Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara - Wisconsin State Senate

Registrations Against

- Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System
- Kathi Kilgore A3PRO

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

November 02, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Moved by Representative O'Connor, seconded by Representative Goeben that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Nedweski, seconded by Representative Michalski that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski and O'Connor.

Noes: (4) Representatives Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Nedweski, seconded by Representative O'Connor that **Assembly Bill 553** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski and O'Connor.

Noes: (4) Representatives Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 4

Steve Knudson

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk