Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 551

Relating to: freedom of speech and of the press in school-sponsored media. By Representatives Michalski, Murphy, Behnke, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Goeben, Gundrum, Maxey, O'Connor, Penterman, Rettinger, S. Johnson and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara, Tomczyk and Spreitzer.

October 23, 2023 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

October 26, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J.

Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- State Representative Tom Michalski Wisconsin State Assembly
- Michael Mosicke State Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara
- Simon Mehring New Voices Wisconsin
- Joe Cohn F.I.R.E.
- Laura Streyle
- Matthew Smith Wis. Journalism Education Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

- Dr. Jacqueline Pfeffer-Merrill Bipartisan Policy Center
- Jeff Buhrandt Universities of Wisconsin

Registrations For

- State Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara Wisconsin State Senate
- Kellen Hoard
- Beth Bennett Wisconsin Newspaper Association

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 02, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor,

Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Moved by Representative Michalski, seconded by Representative Johnson that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor,

Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Michalski, seconded by Representative Shankland that **Assembly Bill 551** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Steve Knudson

Committee Clerk