Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 86

Relating to: permissible financial aid reductions in higher education.

By Representatives Sortwell, Allen, Armstrong, Behnke, Edming, Gustafson and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Cabral-Guevara and Nass.

March 08, 2023 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

June 08, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, Schutt, S. Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J.

Anderson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Sortwell Wisconsin State Assembly District 2
- Kurt Bauer Self

Appearances Against

• Kevin Sheridan - Concordia University

Appearances for Information Only

- Patty Taylor Lakeland University
- Rebecca Larson WAICU

Registrations For

- Senator Cabral-Guevara Wisconsin State Senate
- Dave Stellpflug De Pere Rotary Club

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

Crystal Potts - UW-Madison

October 10, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, S.
Johnson, Michalski, O'Connor, Emerson,
Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Schutt.

Moved by Representative Wittke, seconded by Representative Nedweski that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, S. Johnson, Michalski and O'Connor.

Noes: (5) Representatives Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Michalski, seconded by Representative Goeben that **Assembly Bill 86** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Nedweski, Moses, Wittke, Krug, Goeben, S. Johnson, Michalski and O'Connor.

Noes: (5) Representatives Emerson, Stubbs, Joers, Shankland and J. Anderson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Steve Knudson

Committee Clerk