Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Children and Families

Assembly Bill 391

Relating to: modifying administrative rules regarding the number of child care workers and children in group child care centers.

By Representatives Goeben, Hurd, Binsfeld, Brandtjen, Edming, Green, Gundrum, Gustafson, Krug, Magnafici, Maxey, O'Connor, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Rozar, Schmidt, Sortwell, Steffen, Summerfield, Swearingen, Tranel and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg and Stroebel.

September 01, 2023 Referred to Committee on Children and Families

September 06, 2023 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(11)	Representative Snyder; Representatives
		Goeben, Bodden, Dittrich, Gundrum,
		Penterman, Wichgers, Billings, Vining,
		Snodgrass and Madison.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Pronschinske.

Appearances For

- Rep. Joy Goeben
- Rep. Karen Hurd
- Candy Hall Child Care Resource and Referral
- Lesa Alston Child Care Resource and Referral

Appearances Against

- Ruth Schmidt Wisconsin Early Childhood Association
- Joan Beck Willows Christian Child Care
- Linda Kudrna Wisconsin Child Care Administration Association
- Thomas Becker Christina's Family Daycare
- Renae Henning Community Care Preschool and Child Care
- Tricia Peterson Future All Stars Academy
- Corrine Hendrickson
- Brooke Skidmore
- Carly Eaton BlueGreen Alliance

Appearances for Information Only

• Ragen Shapiro - Wisconsin Department of Children and Families

- Priya Bhatia Wisconsin Department of Children and Families
- Amelia Wenzel Child Care Partnership
- Bianca Hill Wisconsin Child Care Administrators Association

Registrations For

• Sen. Joan Ballweg

Registrations Against

- Jack O'Meara Milwaukee Child Care Alliance
- Daria Hall Milwaukee Succeeds
- Sharon Nash
- Trina Welch Tendercare Christian Childcare Center
- Mishay Elim Tendercare Christian Childcare Center

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 12, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Snyder; Representatives
		Goeben, Bodden, Dittrich, Gundrum,
		Penterman, Pronschinske, Wichgers, Billings,
		Vining, Snodgrass and Madison.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Penterman, seconded by Representative Gundrum that **Assembly Bill 391** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes:(8)Representative Snyder; Representatives
Goeben, Bodden, Dittrich, Gundrum,
Penterman, Pronschinske and Wichgers.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Billings, Vining, Snodgrass and Madison.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Sam Hope Committee Clerk