## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Campaigns and Elections**

### **Assembly Bill 570**

Relating to: certain kinds of election fraud, defects on absentee ballot certificates, returning absentee ballots to the office of the municipal clerk, appointment of election officials, allowing an employee of a residential care facility or qualified retirement home to serve as a personal care voting assistant during a public health emergency or an incident of infectious disease, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Maxey, Macco, Armstrong, Edming, Michalski, Murphy, Rettinger, Steffen and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senator Jacque.

October 26, 2023 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

November 02, 2023 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey,

Murphy, Snodgrass and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (4) Representatives Rozar, Tittl, Tusler and

Subeck.

### Appearances For

- Sen. Andre Jacque 2st State Senate Distict
- Rep. Dave Maxey 15th State Assembly District

#### Appearances Against

None.

## Appearances for Information Only

• Ms. Lisa Tollefson - Rock County Clerk

## Registrations For

None.

#### **Registrations Against**

• Ms. Kami Lynch - City of Appleton Clerk

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 07, 2023 **Executive Session Held** 

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Rozar.

Moved by Representative Maxey, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Tittl and Tusler.

Noes: (3) Representatives Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Maxey, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Bill 570** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Tittl and Tusler.

Noes: (3) Representatives Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

John Reinemann Committee Clerk