Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Campaigns and Elections

Assembly Bill 567

Relating to: transmitting and canvassing absentee ballots, use of central counting locations, election night reporting, whistleblower protection for municipal clerks, notifications and verifications concerning citizenship status, court determinations of incompetency and ineligibility to vote, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Tusler, Maxey, Armstrong, Dittrich, Donovan, Kitchens, Michalski, Murphy, O'Connor, Rettinger, Rozar, Schraa and Steffen; cosponsored by Senator Cabral-Guevara.

October 26, 2023 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

October 31, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey,

Murphy, Tittl, Snodgrass, Subeck and C.

Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Rozar and Tusler.

Appearances For

- Mr. Ryan Retza State Sen. Rachel Cabral-Guevara, 19th State Senate District
- Rep. Scott Krug 72nd State Assembly District
- Ms. Kathryn Heitman State Rep. Ron Tusler, 3rd State Assembly District
- Ms. Arianna Voegeli Green County Clerk
- Ms. Lisa Tollefson Rock County Clerk

Appearances Against

- Rep. Janel Brandtjen 22nd State Assembly District
- Ms. Ken Dragotta

Appearances for Information Only

- Ms. Lori Stottler Janesville Clerk-Treasurer
- Mr. Claire Woodall City of Milwaukee
- Ms. Paulina Gutierrez City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

- Sen. Ron Tusler 3rd State Assembly District
- Ms. Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association
- Ms. Kim Trueblood Marathon County Clerk

• Rep. Dave Maxey - 15th State Assembly District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Mr. Scott McDonell - Dane County Clerk

November 07, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass, Subeck and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Rozar.

Moved by Representative Snodgrass, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives
Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass,
Subeck and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 INTRODUCTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Snodgrass, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives
Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass,
Subeck and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Tittl, seconded by Representative Snodgrass that **Assembly Bill 567** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Krug; Representatives
Maxey, Murphy, Tittl, Tusler, Snodgrass,
Subeck and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

John Reinemann Committee Clerk