Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Agriculture

Assembly Bill 133

Relating to: farmland preservation agreements and tax credits.

By Representatives Oldenburg, Novak, Shankland, Tranel, C. Anderson, Considine, Hurd, Jacobson, Mursau, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Bare, Joers, Krug, Nedweski, Penterman, Subeck, Myers and Pronschinske; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Taylor, Pfaff, Spreitzer, Ballweg, Hesselbein, Marklein, Quinn, Smith, Tomczyk, Carpenter, Roys, Wanggaard and Cowles.

March 31, 2023	Referred to Committee on Agriculture

April 11, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(14)	Representative Tranel; Representatives
		Oldenburg, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau, Novak,
		Schutt, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine,
		Shankland, Myers, Jacobson and C. Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Hurd.

Appearances For

- Rep. Loren Oldenburg 96th District
- Rep. Katrina Shankland 71st District
- Sen. Mark Spreitzer 15th State Senate District
- Katie Abbott Iowa County Land Conservation Dept.
- Shawn Pfaff Pfaff Public Affairs
- Matt Krueger WI Land and Water
- Daniel Kvalheim WI Farmers Union
- Wednesday Coye DATCP
- Tim Anderson DATCP

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Patrick Testin 24th State Senate District
- Erik Kanter Clean Wisconsin
- Tom Bressner WI Agri-Business Association
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association

- Tim Fiocchi WI Farm Bureau
- Bob Welch WI Corn Growers Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Farm Credit Services
- Jordan Lamb WI Pork Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Cattlemen's Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Association of Professional Ag Consultants
- Jordan Lamb WI Soybean Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Potato and Vegetable Growers Association
- Jordan Lamb WI State Cranberry Growers Association

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 11, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Tranel; Representatives
		Oldenburg, Hurd, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau,
		Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine, Shankland,
		Jacobson and C. Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Novak, Schutt and Myers.

Moved by Representative Oldenburg, seconded by Representative VanderMeer that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Tranel; Representatives Oldenburg, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau and Schmidt.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Considine, Shankland, Jacobson and C. Anderson.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Shankland, seconded by Representative Oldenburg that **Assembly Bill 133** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Tranel; Representatives Oldenburg, Hurd, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine, Shankland, Jacobson and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Jeff Curry Committee Clerk