# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Agriculture**

### **Assembly Bill 64**

Relating to: nitrate contamination and the well compensation grant program.

By Representatives Kitchens, Novak, Shankland, Krug, C. Anderson, J. Anderson, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Behnke, Considine, Donovan, Emerson, Green, Joers, Knodl, Moses, Mursau, Oldenburg, Petryk, Plumer, Rozar, Snodgrass, Snyder, Spiros, Subeck and O'Connor; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Testin, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Pfaff, Roys and Spreitzer.

February 23, 2023 Referred to Committee on Agriculture

## April 04, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Tranel; Representatives
Oldenburg, Hurd, Kitchens, Mursau, Novak,
Schutt, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine,
Shankland, Jacobson and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Moses and Myers.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Joel Kitchens 1st District
- Rep. Katrina Shankland 71st District
- Sen. Robert Cowles 2nd State Senate District
- Jason Mugnaini WI Farm Bureau Federation
- Chad Zuleger Dairy Business Association
- Matt Krueger WI Land and Water
- Erik Kanter Clean Wisconsin

#### Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

- Sandy Chancellor WI DNR
- Marty Nessman WI DNR

## Registrations For

- Jordan Lamb WI State Cranberry Growers Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Association of Professional Ag Consultants
- Tom Bressner WI Agri Business Association
- Michelle Ramirez-White WI Farmers Union

- Dan Bahr WI Counties Association
- Nathan Butzlaff WI Association of Local Health Dept. and Boards
- Alex Madotsky The Native Conservancy
- Sen. Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Sam Baron Water Quality Association of WI
- Jordan Lamb WI Potato and Vegetable Growers Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Soybean Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Pork Association
- Jordan Lamb WI Farm Credit Services
- Jordan Lamb WI Cattleman's Association
- Peter Burress WI Conservation Voters
- Paul Heinen WI's Green Fire
- Bob Welch WI Corn Growers
- Nathan Butzlaff WI Public health Association

### **Registrations Against**

• None.

## **Registrations for Information Only**

• None.

## April 11, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Tranel; Representatives
Oldenburg, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau, Novak,
Schutt, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine,
Shankland, Myers, Jacobson and C. Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Hurd.

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Oldenburg that **Assembly Bill 64** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Tranel; Representatives Oldenburg, Kitchens, Moses, Mursau, Novak, Schutt, Schmidt, VanderMeer, Considine, Shankland, Myers, Jacobson and C. Anderson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Jeff Curry Committee Clerk