STATE OF WISCONSIN

Senate Journal

One-Hundred and Sixth Regular Session

FRIDAY, January 12, 2024

The Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

CHIEF CLERK'S ENTRIES

AMENDMENTS OFFERED

Senate Amendment 2 to Senate Substitute Amendment 1 to **Senate Bill 314** offered by Senator James.

Senate Amendment 1 to **Senate Bill 481** offered by Senator Jacque.

REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on **Labor**, **Regulatory Reform**, **Veterans and Military Affairs** reported and recommended:

Senate Bill 546

Relating to: admission of spouses at veterans homes.

Passage.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Testin, Nass, Wanggaard, Wirch and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 744

Relating to: the tuition grant program for national guard members administered by the Department of Military Affairs.

Passage.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Testin, Nass, Wanggaard, Wirch and Carpenter.

Noes: 0 - None.

PATRICK TESTIN

Chairperson

The committee on **Senate Organization** reported:

Referred to, and withdrawn from, the joint committee on **Finance**, pursuant to Senate Rule 41 (1)(e):

Senate Bill 52

Senate Bill 668

Senate Bill 728

Senate Bill 789

Ayes: 5 - Senators LeMahieu, Kapenga, Feyen, Hesselbein and Smith.

Noes: 0 - None.

Public hearing requirement waived, pursuant to Senate Rule 18 (1m):

Assembly Bill 62

Assembly Bill 383

Assembly Bill 386

Assembly Bill 437

Assembly Bill 453

Assembly Bill 500 Assembly Bill 541

Assembly Bill 543

Assembly Bill 573

Assembly Bill 576

Assembly Bill 665

Assembly Bill 666 Assembly Bill 667

Assembly Bill 668

Assembly Bill 906

Assembly Bill 907

Ayes: 5 - Senators LeMahieu, Kapenga, Feyen, Hesselbein and Smith.

Noes: 0 - None.

Placed the following appointments and proposals on the Senate Calendar of Tuesday, January 16, 2024:

Dr. Cynthia Adell

Jeffery Berry

Andrew J. Buttles

Erin Deelev

Robyn Doege-Brennan

Robyn Doege-Brennan

Amber Donovan

Greg Engle

Shaheda Govani

Ronald Grasshoff

Dr. John Greene

Shawna Hansen

Billie Jo Higgins

Tyler Huebner

Tyler Huebner

Dr. Jack Hutter

Dr. Jack nutter

Amanda Kane Christine Kearns

Dr. David Kiefer

Jennifer Malak

Cynthia Martin

Brian C. McGraw

Dana McIntosh

Dr. Katarina Meister	Senate Bill 847
Tiffany O'Hagan	Assembly Bill 62
Erin Roberge	Assembly Bill 224
Shelly Sabourin	Assembly Bill 383
Christian Saldivar Frias	Assembly Bill 386
Peter Sheild	Assembly Bill 437
Andrea Simon	Assembly Bill 453
Tim Strait	Assembly Bill 500
Summer Strand	Assembly Bill 514
Christopher Webster	Assembly Bill 541
Robert Weinman	Assembly Bill 543
Dr. Ann Wonderling	Assembly Bill 545
Senate Bill 52	·
Senate Bill 72	Assembly Bill 550
Senate Bill 155	Assembly Bill 570
Senate Bill 186	Assembly Bill 573
Senate Bill 187	Assembly Bill 576
Senate Bill 188	Assembly Bill 616
Senate Bill 257	Assembly Bill 665
Senate Bill 314	Assembly Bill 666
Senate Bill 321	Assembly Bill 667
Senate Bill 381	Assembly Bill 668
Senate Bill 398	Assembly Bill 906
Senate Bill 399	Assembly Bill 907
Senate Bill 411	Senate Joint Resolution 96
Senate Bill 415	Ayes: 5 - Senators LeMahieu, Kapenga, Feyen,
Senate Bill 450	Hesselbein and Smith.
Senate Bill 452 Senate Bill 466	Noes: 0 - None.
Senate Bill 476 Senate Bill 477	DEVIN LEMAHIEU
Senate Bill 477 Senate Bill 478	Chairperson
Senate Bill 485	
Senate Bill 526	
Senate Bill 531	The joint survey committee on Tax Exemptions reported
Senate Bill 546	and recommended:
Senate Bill 559	Senate Bill 323
Senate Bill 573	Relating to: exempting personal property from the tax
Senate Bill 586	imposed on telephone companies.
Senate Bill 587	
Senate Bill 591	Provisions are good public policy.
Senate Bill 626	Ayes: 5 – Senator Testin; Representative August;
Senate Bill 633	Senators Marklein and Taylor; Representative Swearingen.
Senate Bill 643	Noes: 3 – Representative Goyke; Secretary Barca; Public Member Keenan.
Senate Bill 668	Member Keenan.
Senate Bill 671	Senate Bill 791
Senate Bill 672	Relating to: exemptions from public utility regulation
Senate Bill 689	regarding electric vehicle charging stations, installation and
Senate Bill 692	operation of electric vehicle charging stations by state
Senate Bill 702	agencies or local governmental units, and imposing an excise
Senate Bill 706	tax on electric vehicle charging.
Senate Bill 728	Provisions are good public policy.
Senate Bill 744	Ayes: 8 – Senator Testin; Representative August;
Senate Bill 773	Senators Marklein and Taylor; Representatives Swearingen
Senate Bill 789	and Goyke; Secretary Barca; Public Member Keenan.
Senate Bill 791 Senate Bill 792	Noes: 0 - None.
Senate Bill 810	11005. 0 11010.
Senate Bill 812	PATRICK TESTIN
Senate Bill 846	Senate Chairperson
Denute Dill UTU	

The committee on **Utilities and Technology** reported and recommended:

HUEBNER, TYLER, of Madison, as a Commissioner on the Public Service Commission, to serve for the term ending March 1, 2021.

Rejection.

Ayes: 3 - Senators Bradley, Wanggaard and Quinn.

Noes: 2 - Senators Smith and Pfaff.

HUEBNER, TYLER, of Madison, as a Commissioner on the Public Service Commission, to serve for the term ending March 1, 2027.

Rejection.

Ayes: 3 - Senators Bradley, Wanggaard and Quinn.

Noes: 2 - Senators Smith and Pfaff.

JULIAN BRADLEY

Chairperson

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ratcliff added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 644**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Steffen added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 706**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Vining and Tranel added as cosponsors of **Senate Bill 707**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Spreitzer added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 773**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ratcliff added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 801**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ratcliff added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 803**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ratcliff added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 812**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Joers added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 855**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Ratcliff added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 861**.