STATE OF WISCONSIN

Senate Journal

One-Hundred and Sixth Regular Session

FRIDAY, May 12, 2023

The Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on **Education** reported and recommended:

Senate Bill 210

Relating to: allowing a school board member to serve as a volunteer school bus driver.

Passage.

Ayes: 8 - Senators Jagler, Quinn, Nass, Stroebel, Cabral-Guevara, Larson, L. Johnson and Smith.

Noes: 0 - None. *JOHN JAGLER*

Chairperson

The committee on **Housing, Rural Issues and Forestry** reported and recommended:

FIGURSKI, DANIEL, of Brookfield, as a Controlling Individual on the Real Estate Appraisers Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2026.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Quinn, Jagler, Stafsholt, Wirch and Spreitzer.

Noes: 0 - None.

KRUEGER, CHRISTOPHER, of Whitefish Bay, as a Licensed Appraiser on the Real Estate Appraisers Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2024.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Quinn, Jagler, Stafsholt, Wirch and Spreitzer.

Noes: 0 - None.

LAUER, ELIZABETH, of Madison, as a Real Estate Broker Representative on the Real Estate Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2026.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Quinn, Jagler, Stafsholt, Wirch and Spreitzer.

Noes: 0 - None.

RICHIE, THOMAS, of Rice Lake, as a Real Estate Broker Representative on the Real Estate Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2026.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 4 - Senators Jagler, Stafsholt, Wirch and Spreitzer.

Noes: 0 - None.

RUBOW, RICHARD, of Wausau, as an Assessor Representative on the Real Estate Appraisers Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Quinn, Jagler, Stafsholt, Wirch and Spreitzer.

Noes: 0 - None.

WAGNER, DAVID J., of Saukville, as a Certified General Appraiser on the Real Estate Appraisers Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2026.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Quinn, Jagler, Stafsholt, Wirch and Spreitzer.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 222

Relating to: a pre-disaster flood resilience grant program.

Passage.

Ayes: 4 - Senators Quinn, Jagler, Stafsholt and Spreitzer.

Noes: 1 - Senator Wirch.

ROMAINE QUINN

Chairperson

The committee on **Natural Resources and Energy** reported and recommended:

SMITH, DEMETRIA, of Milwaukee, as a Public Member on the Great Lakes Protection Fund, to serve for the term ending at the pleasure of the Governor.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

VETTE, JOHN, of Oshkosh, as a Winnebago County Representative on the Fox River Navigational System Authority, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2025.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 105

Relating to: signs along snowmobile trails that advertise nearby businesses.

Senate Amendment 1 adoption.

Ayes: 4 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger and Hesselbein.

Noes: 1 - Senator Wirch.

Passage as amended.

Ayes: 4 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger and Hesselbein.

Noes: 1 - Senator Wirch.

Senate Bill 140

Relating to: financial assistance limits for dam removal.

Passage.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 207

Relating to: eligibility for local wildlife control grants.

Passage.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 239

Relating to: software, communications equipment, and maps for nonprofit organizations that promote the operation of all-terrain and utility terrain vehicles.

Passage.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

ROBERT COWLES

Chairperson

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Joers added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 136**.

State of Wisconsin Office of the Senate Majority Leader

May 12, 2023

The Honorable, the Senate:

Pursuant to Senate Rule 20 (2)(a), I am making the following adjustments to the 2023-24 Senate standing committees:

Agriculture and Tourism

• Remove Senator Dianne Hesselbein

Economic Development and Technical Colleges

Appoint Senator Dan Knodl

Education

Remove Senator Jeff Smith

Government Operations

- Appoint Senator Dianne Hesselbein
- Remove Senator Mark Spreitzer

Judiciary and Public Safety

Remove Senator Chris Larson

Licensing, Constitution and Federalism

- Appoint Senator Dan Knodl
- Remove Senator Dan Feyen

Shared Revenue, Elections and Consumer Protection, appoint the following:

- Senator Dan Knodl (Chair)
- Senator Dan Feyen (Vice Chair)
- Senator Romaine Quinn
- Senator Mark Spreitzer
- Senator Jeff Smith

Universities and Revenue

Remove Senator Brad Pfaff

Sincerely, DEVIN LEMAHIEU Majority Leader