

STATE OF WISCONSIN

Senate Journal

One-Hundred and Sixth Regular Session

9:49 A.M.

THURSDAY, March 16, 2023

The Senate met.

The Senate was called to order by Senator LeMahieu.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (6), the Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

CHIEF CLERK'S ENTRIES

AMENDMENTS OFFERED

Senate Amendment 1 to **Senate Bill 40** offered by Senator Feyen.

INTRODUCTION, FIRST READING, AND REFERENCE OF PROPOSALS

Read and referred:

Senate Joint Resolution 20

Relating to: designating June 2023 as Myasthenia Gravis Awareness Month.

By Senators Cowles, Hesselbein, Jacque, Larson and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Representatives Sinicki, Cabrera, Baldeh, Conley, Drake, Edming, Emerson, Jacobson, Joers, Moore Omokunde, Murphy, Ortiz-Velez, Ohnstad, Palmeri, Shankland, Shelton and Subeck.

To the committee on **Senate Organization**.

REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on **Judiciary and Public Safety** reported and recommended:

Senate Bill 101

Relating to: first-degree reckless homicide and providing a penalty.

Passage.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton and James.

Noes: 3 - Senators Taylor, Roys and Larson.

Senate Bill 21

Relating to: the value of tangible personal property allowed in state correctional facilities.

Passage.

Ayes: 8 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and Larson.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 28

Relating to: classifying county jailers as protective occupation participants under the Wisconsin Retirement System and the treatment of county jailers under the Municipal Employment Relations Act.

Senate Amendment 1 adoption.

Ayes: 8 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and Larson.

Noes: 0 - None.

Passage as amended.

Ayes: 8 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and Larson.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 29

Relating to: the Uniform Unsworn Declarations Act.

Passage.

Ayes: 8 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor, Roys and Larson.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 75

Relating to: statutory changes to implement the constitutional amendment relating to conditions of release.

Senate Amendment 1 adoption.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton and James.

Noes: 3 - Senators Taylor, Roys and Larson.

Passage as amended.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton and James.

Noes: 3 - Senators Taylor, Roys and Larson.

Senate Bill 76

Relating to: reorganizing the crimes commonly known as "carjacking" and providing a penalty.

Passage.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton and James.

Noes: 3 - Senators Taylor, Roys and Larson.

Senate Bill 92

Relating to: impoundment of vehicles used in certain reckless driving offenses.

Senate Amendment 1 adoption.

Ayes: 7 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor and Larson.

Noes: 1 - Senator Roys.

Passage as amended.

Ayes: 7 - Senators Wanggaard, Jacque, Wimberger, Hutton, James, Taylor and Larson.

Noes: 1 - Senator Roys.

VAN WANGGAARD

Chairperson

The committee on **Natural Resources and Energy** reported and recommended:

MCGRAW, BRIAN C., of Muscoda, as a Public Member on the Land and Water Conservation Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

PAULSON, MARK, of Madison, as the Governor's Designee on the Midwest Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission, to serve for the term ending at the pleasure of the Governor.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

POELMA, RANDALL, of La Crosse, as a Recreational User Group Representative on the Lower Wisconsin State Riverway Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2025.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

SMALL, JOHN, of Fox Lake, as a Hydrologist Section Public Member on the Examining Board of Professional Geologists, Hydrologists and Soil Scientists, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2026.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

VAN AMAN HOEL, JULIE, of Ontario, as a Non-Resident on the Watershed Representing Education Interests of the Kickapoo Reserve Management Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2025.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

Senate Bill 13

Relating to: eliminating the land recycling loan program.

Senate Amendment 1 adoption.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

Passage as amended.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Cowles, Tomczyk, Wimberger, Hesselbein and Wirch.

Noes: 0 - None.

ROBERT COWLES

Chairperson

PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Hutton added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 48**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Carpenter added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 60**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Carpenter added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 66**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative C. Anderson added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 78**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Hutton added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 90**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Hutton added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 92**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Doyle added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 109**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Shelton and Hong added as cosponsors of **Senate Bill 110**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representatives Penterman and Tittl added as cosponsors of **Senate Bill 113**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senators Marklein and Carpenter added as coauthors of **Senate Bill 113**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Spreitzer added as a coauthor of **Senate Bill 117**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative C. Anderson added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 117**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Allen added as a cosponsor of **Senate Bill 129**.

Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Riemer added as a cosponsor of **Senate Joint Resolution 19**.

MESSAGES FROM THE ASSEMBLY CONSIDERED

Assembly Bill 28

Relating to: classifying county jailers as protective occupation participants under the Wisconsin Retirement System and the treatment of county jailers under the Municipal Employment Relations Act.

By Representatives Born, Allen, C. Anderson, Armstrong, Behnke, Brooks, Callahan, Dittrich, Donovan, Edming, Emerson, Green, Gustafson, Joers, Kitchens, Krug, Macco, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski,

Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Petryk, Plumer, Ratcliff, Rodriguez, Rozar, Schraa, Shankland, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Subeck, Summerfield, Tranel, Tusler, VanderMeer, Wittke, Zimmerman and Jacobson; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Feyen, Jacque, Jagler, James, L. Johnson, Smith and Spreitzer.

Read first time and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.

ADJOURNMENT

Senator LeMahieu, with unanimous consent, asked that the Senate stand adjourned until Tuesday, March 21, 2023.

Adjourned.

9:50 A.M.