STATE OF WISCONSIN

Senate Journal

One-Hundred and Sixth Regular Session

WEDNESDAY, March 15, 2023

The Chief Clerk made the following entries under the above date.

REPORT OF COMMITTEES

The committee on **Economic Development and Technical Colleges** reported and recommended:

BAHR, MEGAN E., of Kenosha, as a WTCS Student Representative on the Wisconsin Technical College System Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Feyen, Stafsholt, Cowles, Pfaff and Taylor.

Noes: 0 - None.

DANIELS JR., DR. QUINCEY, of Mindoro, as a Public Member on the Wisconsin Technical College System Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2023.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Feyen, Stafsholt, Cowles, Pfaff and Taylor.

Noes: 0 - None.

HUGHES, SECRETARY MISSY, of Viroqua, as Secretary of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation, to serve for the term ending at the pleasure of the Governor.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Feyen, Stafsholt, Cowles, Pfaff and Taylor.

Noes: 0 - None.

KLECKER, DANIEL, of Deerfield, as a Public Member on the Wisconsin Technical College System Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2027.

Confirmation

Ayes: 5 - Senators Feyen, Stafsholt, Cowles, Pfaff and Taylor.

Noes: 0 - None.

ROGERS, SARA J., of Milwaukee, as a Public Member on the Wisconsin Technical College System Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2027.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Feyen, Stafsholt, Cowles, Pfaff and Taylor.

Noes: 0 - None.

SALZWEDEL, JACK, of Madison, as a Private Sector Representative on the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation, to serve for the term ending at the pleasure of the Governor.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Feyen, Stafsholt, Cowles, Pfaff and Taylor.

Noes: 0 - None.

SPERBERG, DANIEL, of Pine River, as an Employee Representative on the Wisconsin Technical College System Board, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2025.

Confirmation.

Ayes: 5 - Senators Feyen, Stafsholt, Cowles, Pfaff and Taylor.

Noes: 0 - None.

DAN FEYEN Chairperson

REFERRALS AND RECEIPT OF COMMITTEE REPORTS CONCERNING PROPOSED ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

The committee on **Natural Resources and Energy** reported and recommended:

Senate Clearinghouse Rule 21-041

Relating to implementing electronics recycling program requirements and affecting small business.

No action taken on March 15, 2023.

Referred to the joint committee for review of **Administrative Rules**, March 15, 2023.

ROBERT COWLES
Chairperson

MESSAGES FROM THE ASSEMBLY

By Edward A. Blazel, chief clerk.

Mr. President:

I am directed to inform you that the Assembly has

Adopted and asks concurrence in:

Assembly Joint Resolution 5

Assembly Joint Resolution 11

Assembly Joint Resolution 12

Assembly Joint Resolution 13

Assembly Joint Resolution 14

Passed and asks concurrence in:

Assembly Bill 28 Assembly Bill 53

Assembly Bill 67

Assembly Bill 69

MESSAGES FROM THE ASSEMBLY CONSIDERED

Assembly Joint Resolution 5

Relating to: proclaiming February 2023 to be American Heart Month in Wisconsin.

By Representatives Rozar, Allen, Andraca, Armstrong, Baldeh, Bare, Behnke, Binsfeld, Cabrera, Clancy, Dittrich, Drake, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Goeben, Gundrum, Haywood, Joers, Kitchens, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Oldenburg, Ortiz-Velez, Penterman, Plumer, Rodriguez, Schutt, Shankland, Shelton, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Spiros, Subeck, Tranel, Vining, Madison and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Agard, Carpenter, Cowles, Felzkowski, Hesselbein, Jacque, L. Johnson, Marklein, Pfaff, Roys, Smith, Spreitzer, Taylor, Tomczyk and Wirch.

Read and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.

Assembly Joint Resolution 11

Relating to: proclaiming February 2023 as Black History Month.

By Representatives Drake, Baldeh, Myers, Haywood, Stubbs, Moore Omokunde, Madison, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Shelton, Snodgrass, Palmeri, Clancy, Hong, Goyke, Andraca, Sinicki, Ratcliff, Considine, C. Anderson, J. Anderson, Bare, Vining, Riemer, Allen, Murphy, Emerson, Joers, Subeck, Ortiz-Velez, Conley, Billings, Shankland, Cabrera, Jacobson, Doyle, McGuire and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators L. Johnson, Agard, Carpenter, Wirch, Larson, Spreitzer, Smith, Hesselbein, Roys and Pfaff.

Read and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.

Assembly Joint Resolution 12

Relating to: declaring March 5, 2023, to March 11, 2023, as Women in Construction Week and celebrating the countless contributions of women in construction.

By Representatives Duchow, Neylon, Armstrong, Behnke, Conley, Dittrich, Donovan, Green, Haywood, Kitchens, Magnafici, Moses, Nedweski, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Petryk, Rodriguez, Rozar, Schmidt, Shankland, Sinicki, Spiros, Subeck and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Cowles, Marklein, Spreitzer and Wirch.

Read and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.

Assembly Joint Resolution 13

Relating to: designating June 2023 as Myasthenia Gravis Awareness Month.

By Representatives Sinicki, Cabrera, Baldeh, Conley, Drake, Edming, Emerson, Jacobson, Joers, Moore Omokunde, Murphy, Ortiz-Velez, Ohnstad, Palmeri, Shankland, Shelton and Subeck; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Hesselbein, Jacque, Larson and Spreitzer.

Read and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.

Assembly Joint Resolution 14

Relating to: proclaiming the month of March 2023 as American Red Cross Month throughout the state of Wisconsin.

By Representatives Rozar, J. Anderson, Baldeh, Clancy, Conley, Drake, Jacobson, Joers, Kitchens, Madison, Magnafici, Michalski, Moore Omokunde, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, O'Connor, Ohnstad, Palmeri, Penterman, Rettinger, Shelton, Sinicki, Subeck, Tranel and Edming; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Feyen, Jacque, James, Larson, Spreitzer, Taylor, Cowles and Marklein.

Read and referred to the committee on **Senate Organization**.

Assembly Bill 53

Relating to: reporting certain crimes and other incidents that occur on school property or school transportation and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Duchow, Armstrong, Donovan, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, Nedweski, Novak, Rettinger and Sortwell; cosponsored by Senators Jagler, Wanggaard, James, Nass, Stroebel, Cowles and Marklein.

Read first time and referred to the committee on **Education**.