

### Senate

# **PUBLIC HEARING**

## **Committee on Transportation and Local Government**

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Tuesday, January 23, 2024 1:00 PM 300 Southeast

#### Senate Bill 856

Relating to: specialized transportation assistance pilot program. By Senators Cowles and James; cosponsored by Representatives Sortwell, Baldeh, Goeben, Mursau, O'Connor and Rodriguez.

#### Senate Bill 676

Relating to: eliminating references to registered weight for commercial motor vehicles and modifying Department of Transportation administrative rules.

By Senators Stroebel and Stafsholt; cosponsored by Representatives Callahan, Gundrum, Nedweski and Schmidt.

#### Senate Bill 584

Relating to: erecting highway signs for The Prairie School in Racine County. By Senator Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representative Wittke.

#### Senate Bill 521

Relating to: identification of the Mount Horeb Veterans Memorial on state highway maps.

By Senators Hesselbein and Carpenter; cosponsored by Representatives Bare, Edming, Novak, Baldeh, C. Anderson, Conley, Joers, Michalski, Palmeri and Subeck.

#### Assembly Bill 569

Relating to: the location and operation of driver schools. By Representative VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senator Testin.

#### Senate Bill 625

Relating to: town clerk and treasurer appointments, publication requirements for proposed budget summary and notice of public hearing, and discontinuance of highways.

By Senators Quinn, Ballweg, Cowles, Marklein, Pfaff, Spreitzer and Hesselbein; cosponsored by Representatives Dallman, Kurtz, C. Anderson, Callahan, Considine,

Green, Katsma, Kitchens, Moses, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Rettinger, Schmidt and Wittke.

#### Senate Bill 654

Relating to: modifying administrative rules of the Department of Transportation relating to applications for vehicle titles by nonresident insurance carriers.

By Senators Quinn, Ballweg and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Callahan, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Dittrich, Doyle, Edming, Moses, Rozar, Schmidt and Jacobson.

#### Senate Bill 916

Relating to: requiring local governments to designate an individual for consultation required under a federal program regarding refugee resettlement and assistance.

By Senators Tomczyk, James, Ballweg, Cabral-Guevara, Jacque, Nass, Quinn and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Hurd, Summerfield, Pronschinske, Petryk, Armstrong, Gustafson, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Edming, Goeben, Green, Magnafici, Maxey, Murphy, Mursau, Penterman, Rozar and Schmidt.

01/22/2024: AB569 was added to the list of items to be heard.

Senator Cory Tomczyk Chair