

Senate

PUBLIC HEARING

Committee on Health

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Thursday, December 7, 2023 9:31 AM 201 Southeast

Saldivar Frias, Christian

Of Milwaukee, as a Public Member on the Board of Nursing, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2023.

Lerma, Carmen

Of Milwaukee, as a Public Member on the Medical Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2024.

Clarke, Dr. Callisia

Of Milwaukee, as a Medical Doctor Representative on the Medical Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2024.

Leuthner, Steven R.

Of Whitefish Bay, as a Medical Doctor Representative on the Medical Examining Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2027.

Kellner, Ted

Of Mequon, as a Public Member on the Board of Trustees of the Medical College of Wisconsin, to serve for the term ending June 30, 2027.

Mortara, Dr. Justin

Of Milwaukee, as a Public Member on the Board of Trustees of the Medical College of Wisconsin, to serve for the term ending June 30, 2029.

Martin, Cynthia

Of Pulaski, as a Physician Assistant Representative on the Physician Assistant Affiliated Credentialing Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2027.

Senate Bill 526

Relating to: adding rural emergency medical services providers to the Emergency Medical Services Board.

By Senators Marklein, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Nass, Tomczyk, Stafsholt and Quinn; cosponsored by Representatives Tranel, Callahan, Edming, Green, Magnafici, Moses, Mursau, Novak, O'Connor, Penterman, Pronschinske, Rozar and VanderMeer.

Senate Bill 672

Relating to: value-based purchasing arrangements under the Medical Assistance program.

By Senators Felzkowski and Ballweg; cosponsored by Representatives Schutt, Dittrich, Bare, Donovan, Mursau, Rettinger, Rozar and Subeck.

Senate Bill 349

Relating to: requiring an automated external defibrillator at youth athletic activities operated or sponsored by a public or private school and at athletic events of University of Wisconsin System institutions.

By Senators Smith, Agard, Roys and Larson; cosponsored by Representatives J. Anderson, Behnke, Baldeh, Billings, Cabrera, Donovan, Emerson, Joers, Myers, Ohnstad, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Sinicki, Stubbs and Subeck.

Senate Bill 671

Relating to: student qualification for employment as a nurse aide.

By Senators Cabral-Guevara, Ballweg, Felzkowski and Nass; cosponsored by Representatives Summerfield, Armstrong, Behnke, Bodden, Brandtjen, Conley, Edming, Gundrum, Maxey, Murphy, Petryk and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 689

Relating to: licensure of dental therapists; extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures; providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures; providing an exemption from rule-making procedures; and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Felzkowski, Hutton, James, Marklein, Roys, Spreitzer, Testin and Ballweg; cosponsored by Representatives Plumer, Behnke, Binsfeld, Callahan, Dittrich, Emerson, Goeben, Jacobson, Joers, Mursau, Ohnstad, Oldenburg, Ortiz-Velez, Rozar, Snyder and Tusler.

Senate Bill 692

Relating to: ratification of the Dentist and Dental Hygienist Compact.

By Senators Wimberger, Hesselbein, Felzkowski, Cowles, L. Johnson, Marklein, Ballweg and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Representatives VanderMeer, Dittrich, Armstrong, Bodden, Brooks, Callahan, Gustafson, Jacobson, Kitchens, Mursau, O'Connor, Penterman, Plumer, Rozar, Wittke and Brandtjen.

Senate Bill 706

Relating to: scholarships for Marquette University School of Dentistry students who practice in dental health shortage areas.

By Senators Testin, Ballweg, Feyen, Nass and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Sapik, Kurtz, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dittrich, Donovan, Melotik, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Penterman, Rodriguez, Snyder, Subeck, Tusler, VanderMeer and Zimmerman.

Senate Bill 728

Relating to: license fee exemptions for a dog that is a service animal.

By Senators Cabral-Guevara, Carpenter and Spreitzer; cosponsored by
Representatives Gustafson, Doyle, C. Anderson, Behnke, Brandtjen, Dittrich, Jacobson,
Joers, Magnafici, Murphy, Ortiz-Velez, Palmeri, Ratcliff and Sinicki.

12/04/2023: EA-MCFARLAND was removed from the list of items to be heard.

Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara Chair