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2021 Wisconsin Act 236 
[2021 Assembly Bill 975] 

Substitute Teacher Permits 

State law requires the State Superintendent to grant a substitute teacher permit to a person who has an 
associate degree, completes substitute teacher training, and passes a background check.  

2021 Wisconsin Act 236 additionally requires the State Superintendent to grant a substitute teacher 
permit to a person who is currently in a teacher training program, if the individual meets certain 
requirements. A person may receive a substitute teacher permit if he or she meets all of the following: 
(a) the person is at least 20 years old; (b) the person is enrolled in an approved teacher preparatory 
program; (c) if the person’s teacher preparatory program awards a bachelor’s degree, he or she has 
achieved junior level status; (d) the person has completed 15 hours of classroom observation; and (e) 
the person passes a background check. Act 236 further specifies that the State Superintendent cannot 
require an individual who meets the listed conditions to complete substitute teacher training in order to 
receive a substitute teaching permit. 

Effective date: April 10, 2022 
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