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2021 Wisconsin Act 128 
[2021 Senate Bill 607] 

Threshold for Timber Sales  

BACKGROUND 
A sale of timber from a state, county, or community1  forest must be advertised twice in a newspaper2 
and approved by the secretary of the Department of Natural Resources, if the sale exceeds a certain 
threshold. Under prior law, that threshold was an estimated value of $3,000. 

2021 WISCONSIN ACT 128 
2021 Wisconsin Act 128 modifies the sales threshold for the application of the advertisement and 
approval requirements, described above, to either an estimated volume of at least 500 cord equivalents 
or an estimated value of $10,000.  

Effective date: February 6, 2022 
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1  A “community forest” is a forest owned by a city, village, town, or school district. [s. 28.20, Stats.]  
2 The newspaper must have general circulation in the county where the timber is located.  


