

Senate

PUBLIC HEARING

Committee on Financial Institutions and Revenue

The committee will hold a public hearing on the following items at the time specified below:

Tuesday, May 25, 2021 9:00 AM 411 South

Hanson, Gail

Of Oconomowoc, as a Public Member on the Deferred Compensation Board, to serve for the term ending July 1, 2022.

Senate Bill 158

Relating to: requiring the Department of Financial Institutions to study and report on establishing a section 529A ABLE savings account program.

By Senators Jacque and Ballweg; cosponsored by Representatives Mursau, Jagler, Loudenbeck, Moses, Murphy, Petryk, Rozar, Summerfield, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tusler and Wichgers.

Senate Bill 243

Relating to: reducing the eligibility threshold to claim the veterans and surviving spouses property tax credit.

By Senators Jacque, L. Taylor, Carpenter, Roth, Testin and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Edming, Mursau, L. Myers, Anderson, Andraca, Armstrong, Bowen, Brandtjen, Callahan, Drake, Hebl, Horlacher, Milroy, Novak, Ortiz-Velez, Petersen, Petryk, Rozar, Shankland, Sinicki, Snodgrass, Summerfield and Tranel.

Senate Bill 246

Relating to: exempting from taxation the pension benefits of certain federal employees.

By Senators Kooyenga, Wirch and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Armstrong, Ohnstad, Brooks, Anderson, Baldeh, Cabrera, Conley, Doyle, Hebl, Kerkman, Knodl, McGuire, B. Meyers, Moses, Neubauer, S. Rodriguez, Rozar, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spreitzer, Stubbs, Subeck, VanderMeer, Vruwink and Drake.

Senate Bill 258

Relating to: an income tax deduction for an arrearage paid on behalf of a tenant for municipal utility service.

By Senators Feyen and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Sortwell, Armstrong, Brooks, Edming, Kuglitsch, Murphy, Rozar, Skowronski, Tittl, Tusler and Thiesfeldt.

Senate Bill 285

Relating to: Department of Revenue enforcement and providing a penalty. By Senators Wanggaard and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Spiros, Drake, Moses, Skowronski, Baldeh, Emerson, Goyke, Haywood, Macco, Vruwink, McGuire, Wittke and Conley.

Senate Bill 198

Relating to: expanding applicability of the room tax, making substantive and technical changes to the local room tax, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Ballweg, Jacque and Ringhand; cosponsored by Representatives Kitchens, Billings, Krug, Dallman, Duchow, Edming, Emerson, Mursau, B. Meyers, Novak, J. Rodriguez, Rozar, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer and Subeck.

> 05/21/2021: The location was changed to 411 South. 05/24/2021: SB198 was added to the list of items to be heard.

> > Senator Dale Kooyenga Chair