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AN ACT to create 20.235 (1) (a) and 39.49 of the statutes; relating to:
veteran-related tuition grants for certain veterans and dependents enrolled in
private nonprofit institutions of higher education and making an

appropriation.

Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau

This bill requires the Higher Educational Aids Board to make veteran-related
grants for students enrolled in bachelor’s or graduate degree programs at private
nonprofit institutions that are members of the Wisconsin Association of Independent
Colleges and Universities. The grants are made for students who would have
qualified for veteran-related tuition remissions if they had enrolled in the
University of Wisconsin System or a technical college. Subject to certain residency
requirements, those students consist of veterans, as well as spouses, unremarried
surviving spouses, and, subject to age limits, children of veterans with
service-related disabilities or veterans who died in the line of duty or as the result
of service-related disabilities. Like the UW System and technical college remissions,
the Department of Veteran Affairs is required to verify veteran status.

Before making a grant for a student for a semester or session, HEAB must
require the student to apply to the payment of tuition all the educational assistance
to which the student is entitled under specified federal veteran educational
assistance programs. The same requirement applies under current law for the UW
System and technical college remissions. The bill limits the grants for an individual
student for a period of no more than 128 credits or eight semesters or sessions,
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whichever is longer. However, if a student previously received veteran-related
tuition remissions from the UW System or a technical college, that limit is reduced
by the number of credits, semesters, or sessions for which the student received the
tuition remissions. The bill also requires a student to maintain a cumulative grade
point average of at least 2.0 in order to qualify for the grants.

The amount of a grant for a student for a semester or session must equal the
lesser of $2,000 or 50 percent of the difference between the amount of tuition charged
by the private nonprofit institution and the amount of tuition paid for the student
under specified federal veteran educational assistance programs. The bill requires
HEAB to make the grants to a student’s private nonprofit institution to offset the
tuition charged by the institution. If HEAB makes a grant under the bill, the
student’s institution must match the amount of the grant to offset the tuition charged
to the student.

For further information see the state fiscal estimate, which will be printed as
an appendix to this bill.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
SEcCTION 1. 20.005 (3) (schedule) of the statutes: at the appropriate place, insert
the following amounts for the purposes indicated:
2019-20 2020-21
20.235 Higher educational aids board
(1)  STUDENT SUPPORT ACTIVITIES
(a)  Private institution grants for
veterans and dependents GPR B -0- 2,500,000
SECTION 2. 20.235 (1) (a) of the statutes is created to read:
20.235 (1) (a) Private institution grants for veterans and dependents.
Biennially, the amounts in the schedule for grants under s. 39.49 (2) (a).
SECTION 3. 39.49 of the statutes is created to read:

39.49 Private institution grants for veterans and dependents. (1)

DEFINITIONS. In this section:
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(a) “Deceased or disabled veteran” means an eligible veteran, as defined in s.
36.27 (3n) (a) 1m., except that, for purposes of this section, the word institution in
s. 36.27 (3n) (a) Im. b. means private institution. In determining a person’s residence
at the time of entry into service for purposes of this paragraph, the state from which
the person entered service is irrelevant.

(b) “Dependent” means any of the following of a deceased or disabled veteran:

1. A spouse.

2. An unremarried surviving spouse.

3. A child, if the child is at least 17 but not yet 26 years of age.

(c) “Eligible student” means a student who is a veteran or dependent.

(d) “Entry into service” means entry into the U.S. armed forces, in forces
incorporated as part of the U.S. armed forces, in the national guard, or in a reserve
component of the U.S. armed forces.

(e) “Private institution” means a private nonprofit institution that is a member
of the Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and Universities.

(f) The definition of “veteran” given in s. 36.27 (3p) (a) 1r. applies in this section
as it applies in s. 36.27 (3p), except that, for purposes of this section, the word
institution in s. 36.27 (3p) (a) 1r. (intro.) means private institution. In determining
a person’s residence at the time of entry into service for purposes of this paragraph,
the state from which the person entered service is irrelevant.

(2) TUITION GRANTS. (a) 1. Except as provided in subds. 2. and 3., the board shall
make grants from the appropriation under s. 20.235 (1) (a) for the period specified
in par. (b) in the amount determined under par. (c) for an eligible student for each
semester or session he or she is enrolled in a bachelor’s or graduate degree program

of a private institution and maintains a cumulative grade point average of at least
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2.0. The board shall make the grants to the private institution in which a student
is enrolled to offset the tuition charged by the private institution.

2. If a deceased veteran was not a resident of this state at the time of entry into
the service, the board may not make a grant under subd. 1. for an eligible student
who is a dependent of the deceased veteran unless the dependent has resided in this
state for at least 5 consecutive years immediately preceding his or her enrollment in
a private institution.

3. Before the board makes a grant under subd. 1. for an eligible student for a
semester or session, the board shall require the eligible student to apply to the
payment of tuition for that semester or session all educational assistance to which
the eligible student is entitled under 38 USC 3313, if the eligible student is a veteran,
or under 38 USC 3319, if the eligible student is a dependent.

(b) The board shall make grants under par. (a) 1. for an eligible student for no
more than 128 credits or 8 semesters or sessions, whichever is longer, less the
number of credits, semesters, or sessions for which the eligible student received
remissions under ss. 36.27 (3p) or 38.24 (8).

(¢) The amount of a grant under par. (a) 1. for an eligible student for a semester
or session shall equal the lesser of the following:

1. Two thousand dollars.

2. Fifty percent of the amount of tuition charged by the private institution in
which the eligible student is enrolled less one of the following amounts:

a. If the eligible student is a veteran, the amount of tuition paid under 10 USC
2107 (c¢), 38 USC 3104 (a) (7) (A), and 38 USC 3313.

b. If the student is a dependent, the amount of tuition paid under 38 USC 3319.
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(3) MATCHING AMOUNTS REQUIRED. For each grant made by the board under sub.
(2) (a) 1. for an eligible student, the private institution in which an eligible student
is enrolled shall match the amount of the grant from institutional funds, gifts, or
grants of an equal amount to offset the tuition charged to the student.

SECTION 4. Initial applicability.

(1) This act first applies to students enrolled for the first semester or session
beginning after the effective date of this subsection.

(END)



